Bills' Everett earns Courage Award

Rolle to be honored

Pro football

January 09, 2008

Buffalo Bills tight end Kevin Everett, who suffered a spinal cord injury during the first game of the season and was able to walk again to visit teammates during the team's final home game, headlines the 2007 class of the Ed Block Courage Awards.

The 30th annual Ed Block Courage Awards will be presented March 11 at Martin's West.

Cornerback Samari Rolle, who played this past season despite suffering three seizures because of epilepsy, is the Ravens' winner for 2007.

The Ed Block Courage Awards are named after the former Baltimore Colts trainer and recognize a person from each NFL team who symbolizes courage and sportsmanship.

Former Ravens Gary Baxter, a Cleveland Browns defensive back, and Tony Weaver, a Houston Texans defensive end, will also be honored.

Call 410-821-6252 for information or visit

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.