Mount Hebron shakes off Oakland Mills

December 20, 2007|By Glenn Graham | Glenn Graham,SUN REPORTER

With its 18-point, third-quarter lead cut to two with five minutes left last night at Oakland Mills, No. 11 Mount Hebron got back to what provided the early advantage: scrappy, in-your-face defense and timely offense.

Sophomore forward Megan Schaaf and junior guard Brittany Bowen supplied the late offense, and senior guard Qiana Coleman led the defensive charge that gave the Vikings a 45-37 win in Howard County play.

Schaaf finished with a team-high 16 points - hitting a short turnaround jumper near the foul line to give the Vikings (6-0) a 41-37 lead with 3:12 to play - and Bowen (12 points) banked home a jumper and hit a driving layup to help seal the win. Coleman was mostly in charge of keeping Oakland Mills senior guard Miriam McKenzie (18 points) in check, which she accomplished by denying her the ball in the closing minutes.

"We all knew it was a really big game; we had been preparing for it. We just pulled it together and realized we had [five minutes] left to put everything we had left out on the court, and to prove to ourselves and everybody who was here we can come out with a big victory," Schaaf said.

Down 31-13 early in the second half, the Scorpions (6-1) rallied behind McKenzie, who scored six straight points midway through the fourth quarter to cut the visitors' lead to 39-37.

"It's a tough loss, but sometimes it's good to lose games like this, because that's when you learn more," Oakland Mills coach Seth Willingham said.

No. 1 Seton Keough 71, McDonogh 46 -- Asya Bussie had a game-high 22 points, including 12 in the first quarter, as the visiting Gators (8-0) defeated the Eagles (4-4).

No. 2 St. Frances 87, IND 24 -- Shatyra Hawkes led all scorers with 21 points as the host Panthers (6-0) beat the

Staff reports contributed to this article.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.