Reed, Ogden and Lewis get Honolulu invitations

December 19, 2007|By Jamison Hensley | Jamison Hensley,Sun reporter

In what could come as a surprise, the Ravens have nearly as many Pro Bowl players as wins this season.

At the NFL all-star event Feb. 10 in Honolulu, free safety Ed Reed, offensive tackle Jonathan Ogden and linebacker Ray Lewis will represent the Ravens (4-10).

The Ravens have the second-most Pro Bowl selections among teams with losing records (only the Chicago Bears have more) and have more picks than playoff contenders Cleveland, Jacksonville, Tampa Bay and the New York Giants.

The Pro Bowl teams are made up of the consensus of votes from fans, players and coaches. Each group's vote counts one-third toward determining the conferences' 43-man rosters.

The only Pro Bowl starter for the Ravens is Reed, who was named for the fourth time in his six-year career.

"To be selected with these other tremendous athletes is an honor," said Reed, who is tied for fourth in the NFL with six interceptions. " ... This Pro Bowl thing never gets old."

Ogden and Lewis were named as reserves.

Ogden, who missed five games with a toe injury, still was selected to his 11th straight Pro Bowl despite being unable to play at his usual elite level because of the injury.

"Even though I was hurt ... I gave it everything I had," Ogden said. "Even after all these years, the validation this honor carries means a lot to me."

Lewis, who is tied for fifth in the NFL in tackles, is headed to his ninth Pro Bowl.

Notes -- Linebacker Terrell Suggs and special teams standout Gary Stills were named Pro Bowl first alternates. They would receive an invitation if a Pro Bowl player gets injured. Running back Willis McGahee is a second alternate. ... Cornerback Samari Rolle, who has played this season despite suffering three seizures because of epilepsy, was named the Ravens' Ed Block Courage Award winner.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.