Crime Watch

December 17, 2007

Hit-run crash on I-95 kills pair on shoulder

State police are searching for a driver who struck and killed two people early yesterday as they stood outside their vehicle on Interstate 95 near a Howard County rest area.

Police said the victims, Vaughn E. Monroe, 37, and Adrienne D. Jones, 35, both of the 2600 block of Jasper St. in Southeast Washington, were in the process of changing drivers and were on the shoulder of the southbound lanes of I-95 near the rest area in Savage when they were struck about 3:10 a.m.

Both were pronounced dead at the scene.

Police said the driver of the Ford Explorer that hit the pair, a man in his early 20s wearing dark clothing, was last seen running southbound on I-95 away from the crash scene. The car had not been reported stolen.

Anyone who saw the incident is asked to call the Maryland State Police Waterloo barracks at 410-799- 2101.

Greg Garland

Police-shooting victim named

Baltimore County police have identified Jason William Leary, 25, of the 6100 block of Edmondson Ave. as the Catonsville man who was shot and killed late Saturday by police responding to a report of a domestic disturbance.

Police said someone inside the house called to say that Leary was beating his wife. When two police officers arrived, Leary sprayed one of the officers with what is believed to be pepper spray, then ran outside, holding a machete with which he threatened the officers, police said.

The officer who was not hit with pepper spay fired several shots, hitting Leary at least once in the upper body, police said.

Leary was taken to Saint Agnes Hospital, where he died shortly after arrival, police said.

The officer who shot Leary is on administrative leave while the shooting is investigated.

Leary's wife, two young children and two other adults in the single-family home were uninjured, police said.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.