Cross Country

December 12, 2007


Runner of the Year

Zach Sullivan

Archbishop Spalding

Sullivan ran strongly all season but saved his best performance for the biggest race. The junior captured the Maryland Interscholastic Athletic Association championship by pulling away from Grisha Iventichev of Friends and Calvert Hall's Anthony Rowe in the final half mile. Sullivan won in 16 minutes, 1 second, beating Iventichev by seven seconds, then finished fifth in the private schools state championship.

Coach of the Year

Josh Alcombright

Severna Park

Alcombright guided the Falcons on a winning path in his second year as coach. Severna Park finished fourth in the county last year but dominated this year as defending champion Broadneck fell to fourth. Severna Park took second in the regionals and fourth at Class 4A states.

PUBLIC SCHOOLS TEAM: Christian Smooth, Annapolis Area Christian; John Brungot, South River; Andrew Fin layson, Severna Park; Rico Borrero, Rico, Northeast; Jean-Pau Reddinger, Severna Park; Nic Walsh, South River; Joe Rosenthal, Northeast.

COUNTY PLAYERS ON MIAA TEAM: A Conference - Archbishop Spalding: Zach Sullivan, Trevor Keen, J.R. Spencer; B Conference - Annapolis Area Christian: Chris Chitterling, Will Kang.

Note: Runner and Coach of the Year were selected by Jeff Seidel after consultation with The Sun staff and area coaches. The public schools team is based on the top seven finishers at the county meet. The MIAA team was selected through voting by league coaches.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.