By The Numbers


December 05, 2007


Four-time public school state titlists. Aberdeen's Matt Slutzky became the first four-time state champ in 1992, and Owings Mills' Steve Kessler matched the feat in 1997. Hereford senior Josh Asper has a chance to become the third to win four state titles.


Wrestlers returning this season after going undefeated last year: Hereford's Asper (39-0 at 160 pounds), Northeast senior Maurice Fleming (40-0, 140), Annapolis senior Bubby Graham (32-0, 152) and McDonogh sophomore Nick Schenk (43-0, 103).


Starters returning for No. 1 and two-time defending Maryland Interscholastic Athletic Association champion McDonogh, including five conference titlists.


Individual state champions coached by Owing Mills' Guy Pritzker in his 26 seasons. Tony Mack, a 160-pound senior, became the 25th last season when he captured the Class 2A-1A crown at 145 pounds.


Consecutive matches won by Annapolis' Graham, who has captured two straight Class 4A-3A state crowns. Graham, who will wrestle at 160 pounds, has a career mark of 85-8 going into the season. Hereford's Asper has the next-longest winning streak in the area at 50.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.