In Business

November 10, 2007


The Anne Arundel Tech Council announced the winners of its 2007 TechAwards. Receiving the Good Chip Award was Carematic Systems Inc., developer of online software for adults with developmental disabilities; the Tech Service Award: NMR Consulting, an information technology company; and the Innovator Award: RxNT, maker of an automatic prescription system. Force 3, a 300-employee firm that provides communications networks, network management and application support to mostly government customers, was named Tech Company of the Year. The council also inducted John Belcher, CEO of ARINC, and Northrop Grumman into its Legends Circle honoring stalwarts of the community.

The Maryland Chamber of Commerce and the Baltimore Business Journal named Correct Rx Pharmacy Services, Capital Technology Information Services and Verizon Maryland as recipients of the Maryland Business Philanthropy Awards.

The Baltimore Chamber of Commerce inducted Alan and Lois Elkins, co-founders of Advance Business Systems, and Martin Resnick, chairman of Martin's Caterers, into its Business Hall of Fame.

Marie Anne Erickson, a volunteer for several organizations, received the Tourism Council of Frederick County Ambassador of the Year Award for her efforts to attract visitors to Frederick County.

The U.S. Department of Commerce awarded an Export Achievement Certificate to Stevensville-based Vapotherm, a manufacturer of high-flow oxygen therapy systems. The certificate recognizes small and medium-size companies that have successfully entered the global market.

The Tech Council of Maryland announced the winners of its Second Annual Mid-Atlantic CIO & CTO Live! Awards. The Mid-Atlantic CIO&CTO Live! Awards is the only awards program in the region to recognize the outstanding achievements of the area's information technology professionals. Awards are given to the IT executive who has been a proven leader, visionary and innovator of new technology for their organizations in the Public/Nonprofit, Government and Commercial sectors. Gregory Smith, vice president and CIO, information technology for the World Wildlife Federation, was selected IT Executive of the Year for a public/nonprofit company. Dr. Gregg Bailey, assistant director and chief information officer for the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives, was selected as IT Executive of the Year in the government sector, and Martin Roesch, chief technology officer, founder and creator of SNORT open-source intrusion detection and prevention technology for Sourcefire in the commercial company category.

Red Brick Station Restaurant and Pub won a gold medal and best of show for its handcrafted, pub-brewed Something Red ale in the Maryland Governor's Cup competition.


Mark W. Norris, a business valuation appraiser with Timonium-based Naden Lean LLC, has been granted accredited member status by the American Society of Appraisers.


Lockheed Martin received an $18 million contract from the Energy Trust of Oregon and another for $9 million from Pacific Gas & Electric Co. to provide support for energy-efficiency programs.


Adelberg, Rudow, Dorf & Hendler LLC, the Baltimore-based national law firm, has expanded its practice to Howard County with offices at 3201 Rogers Ave. in Ellicott City under the direction of attorneys Oren D. Saltzman and Brian S. Jablon.


Silver Spring-based Choice Hotels International was named as one of the top 50 franchisers for minorities by the National Minority Franchising Initiative and USA Today.


Starwood Hotels & Resorts Worldwide Inc. and LTD Management Co. LLC, announced the opening of the 260-room Westin Baltimore-Washington Airport at 1110 Old Elkridge Landing Road in Linthicum.

Kohl's Department Store is opening its 16th and newest Maryland location at 418 George Clauss Blvd. in Severn Wednesday.


Lyn Rossano, a vice president of William Gallagher Associates, has been named to the board of directors of Women in Bio.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.