Rutgers' hit on Steffy was illegal, ACC rules

Maryland Notebook

October 03, 2007|By Heather A. Dinich | Heather A. Dinich,SUN REPORTER

COLLEGE PARK -- The hit by a Rutgers defender that gave Maryland quarterback Jordan Steffy a concussion last weekend was illegal helmet-to-helmet contact that was missed by the game officials, an Atlantic Coast Conference spokesman confirmed yesterday.

"It was an unintended, not-purposeful hit," said Mike Finn, the ACC's associate commissioner for media relations, after speaking with Doug Rhoads, coordinator of football officials. "It should have been flagged."

Georgia Tech @Maryland Saturday, noon, Ch. 13, 105.7 FM, 1300 AM Line: Georgia Tech by 3

Baltimore Sun Articles
|
|
|
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.