Harford History

The origins of Eden Mill

June 24, 2007

On June 29, 1786, a son named Jesse was born to Elijah Stansbury Sr. and his second wife, Elizabeth, becoming one of the family's 11 sons and four daughters.

Elijah had owned a tailor shop in Baltimore, but decided to look for a location to build a mill and farm in Harford County. The site that he found on Deer Creek was considered the best in the area.

By 1798, he had built a dam, sawmill and gristmill, and he also owned seven houses, 2 acres of land, two additional tracts, and three slaves. He constructed the three-story Stansbury Mansion of locally made bricks in a unique style that included porches on both ends of the long, narrow home.

The property was operated as Stansbury Mill until 1883, and in 1896 became known as Eden Mill. Today, the site in Pylesville is home to a museum and nature center.

[Source: Eden Mill: An Illustrated History by Jack L. Shagena. Research by Harford County Public Library.]

Baltimore Sun Articles
|
|
|
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.