Chesapeake only team to claim state title

Gibson hurls no-hitter in Cougars' 2-0 victory


May 30, 2007|By Pat O'Malley | Pat O'Malley,SUN REPORTER

Chesapeake's softball team was the only county softball or baseball squad to win a state championship last weekend.

Sophomore Lauren Gibson pitched a no-hitter to lead the Cougars to a 2-0 win over Damascus of Montgomery County in the Class 4A final at the University of Maryland. The Cougars finished 23-3 under coach Don Ellenberger, who won his first state softball title, the school's sixth and the county's state-record 28th.

No. 8 Northeast (19-7) lost the Class 3A state final to Huntingtown (22-1), 4-0.

The county did not have a baseball team in any of the state semifinals for the first time since the tournament started in 1975.

Softball started in 1976 with one state final, and the next year went to two classifications and then expanded to four in 1978, when Meade won the county's first state softball title.

Northeast has won a state-record nine state titles. The county won 16 of its 28 state titles from 1982 to 1991 and has placed at least one team in a state final every year since 1996.

Only three years - 1979, 1980 and 1995 - since Meade won in 1978 has the county not had at least one team in the state semifinals.

Anne Arundel County baseball and softball teams have a combined 53 state titles.

Other state championships claimed by county teams this spring included the Severna Park boys and girls lacrosse teams and the Meade boys outdoor track team.

Cannon banquet

The 16th Friends of Joe Cannon Baseball Scholar Banquet is set for Sunday at Michael's Eighth Avenue in Glen Burnie. Three of the scholars will receive scholarships from the group based on their academic credentials.

First place receives a $3,000 grant, followed by $2,000 and $1,000 awards.

Those nominated for the scholarships are: Joe McHale, Archbishop Spalding; Roy Hewitt, Annapolis; Eric Potter, Arundel; Chris Engler, Broadneck; Ret Retowsky, Chesapeake; Paul Weaver, Glen Burnie; Tim Blackmon, Meade; Lee Anarino, North County; Louis Berger III, Northeast; Kevin Williford, Old Mill; Steven Knopf, St. Mary's; Mark Benischek, Severna Park; Nate Mayberry, Southern; and Antonio Cotillo, South River.

Sportscaster Keith Mills, former Brooklyn Park three-sport athlete, will be the guest speaker. For tickets, call Frank Svoboda at 410-761-0642 or e-mail Joe Zimmerman at

Quick hits

Four county girls and one boys lacrosse player have been named to the Tewaaraton Baltimore-Washington Metro region teams: Caroline Cochran (St. Mary's), Karri Ellen Johnson (Broadneck), Julie Gardner (Severna Park), Josie Owen (Severn) and Nick Elsmo (Severn). Elsmo, the only county player on the Maryland State Lacrosse Association All-State first team, is one of only three repeat boys selections.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.