F&M tops Salisbury for national title, 21-0 season

Franklin & Marshall 11 Salisbury 8

Division III women

May 21, 2007|By From staff reports

GENEVA, N.Y. -- Franklin & Marshall defeated Salisbury, 11-8, yesterday to win the women's Division III lacrosse national championship and cap an unbeaten season at 21-0.

Jen Pritchard and Sarah Meisenberg each scored four goals to lead the top-ranked Diplomats, who earned their first national title.

Ashley Bevington (two goals) and Blake Hargest (one) scored the Diplomats' other goals, and Kelly Cassels had two assists.

"We can't take anything away from Franklin & Marshall," Salisbury coach Jim Nestor said. "We didn't get in sync on the offensive end of the field."

Natalie Degele and Katie Simmons each scored two goals to lead the second-ranked Sea Gulls (21-2), who never led in the game.

Franklin & Marshall dominated the draw controls, winning 13 of 20, including six straight in the second half.

Salisbury outshot Franklin & Marshall 27-22, picked up 14 ground balls to Franklin & Marshall's seven and committed 24 fouls to the Diplomats' 11.

The Sea Gulls were 0-for-4 on free-position shots, and Franklin & Marshall connected on one of three.

Salisbury has made the NCAA final four three of the past four seasons, and yesterday was its second title-game appearance. The Sea Gulls lost to The College of New Jersey in the 2005 final.

Salisbury 4 4 - 8

Franklin & Marshall 4 7 - 11

Goals: S-Degele 2, Simmons 2, Ackermann, Shores, Bishop, Morrell. FM- Pritchard 4, Meisenberg 4, Bevington 2, Blake, Hargest. Assists: S- Ackermann 2, Degele, Mulligan. FM-Cassels 2, Hargest, Summers 1. Saves: S- Stuart 6; FM-Sanza 10. A: 342.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.