Education Awards

May 20, 2007

`Reflections' recognized

The Winters Mill High School yearbook, Reflections, has been recognized for excellence and spotlighted in the 2007 Jostens Gotcha Covered Look Book.

Published annually by Jostens, a yearbook publishing company, the Gotcha Covered Look Book features a gallery of the best spreads and covers from yearbooks across the country.

The Reflections yearbook is featured in the design section of the 2007 Gotcha Covered Look Book. Lucas Huber and Kim Broadwater, graduates of Winters Mill High School, created the design under the leadership of yearbook adviser Leann Peck.

Finance board honored

The Carroll County National Academy of Finance Advisory Board has received the 2007 Career and Technology Education Outstanding Secondary Business Partnership Award of Excellence from the Maryland State Department of Education.

The board was created as a partnership of businesses to carry out the planning and implementation of the school system's Academy of Finance.

The board is made up of representatives from the school system and business community. It is responsible for reviewing curriculum, providing paid internships for students, and strengthening ties with the Carroll County Chamber of Commerce.

Board members also serve as guest speakers and facilitate field trips to work sites.

10 students honored at banquet

Ten Carroll County public school students recently were honored at the 2007 Carson Scholars Fund 11th annual Awards Banquet.

Recognized students are: Brittani Armstrong, Grade 5, Taneytown Elementary; Leah Blight and Elizabeth Welliver, Grade 8, East Middle; Samantha Brehm, Grade 7, Northwest Middle; Alex Fiore, Grade 7, and Stacey Heaver, Grade 8, West Middle; Deborah Mullen, Grade 8, Mount Airy Middle; Kelsey Stansbury, Grade 6, North Carroll Middle; Lauren Williams, Grade 7, Oklahoma Road Middle; Laura Wonilowicz, Grade 5, Cranberry Station Elementary.

The Carson Scholars Fund Inc. is a nonprofit charity founded in 1994 by Johns Hopkins pediatric neurosurgeon Dr. Benjamin Carson and his wife, Candy, to recognize students in grades 4-11.

Students were presented with a certificate and personalized medal. Their school received a trophy listing all of its Carson Scholars.

Auto technician winners named

Scott Mason and Gregory Johnson, students at the Carroll County Career and Technology Center, have won the title of Maryland's best student auto technicians.

They will test their skill and resourcefulness at the Ford Motor Company Headquarters in Dearborn, Mich., June 24-26, at the 2007 Ford/AAA Student Auto Skills national finals.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.