Three firefighters enter Hall of Fame

County emergency workers association honors inductees

May 20, 2007|By Ellie Baublitz | Ellie Baublitz,Sun Reporter

Three long-time volunteer firefighters are the newest members of the Carroll County Volunteer Emergency Services Association's Hall of Fame.

James W. Linton Jr. from Mount Airy Volunteer Fire Company, C. Fred Dickmyer from Lineboro Volunteer Fire Department, and Richard Green Sr. from Gamber & Community Fire Company were inducted into the Hall of Fame during a banquet at the third annual association convention yesterday in Gamber.

In his 41st year as a member at Mount Airy, Linton has served as company treasurer since 1978, committee chairman for numerous events and projects, an emergency vehicle driver since 1970 and an event fundraiser.

Linton, who started as a junior member, has won a number of awards from the fire company, as well as the R. Adams Cowley Shock Trauma Hero Award in 2000.

Dickmyer joined Lineboro in 1954, and his wife and six children are volunteers. He has been fire chief, first and second assistant fire chief, president and a trustee.

He has served on numerous committees from new vehicle replacement to fundraising. He also has been active on the county association's executive committee.

Green finished his first term as association president yesterday. A 33-year member of Gamber, as well as a career firefighter in Baltimore County since 1982, he has served at the company, county and state levels.

Starting as a junior member from a family of firefighters, Green has been a sergeant, captain, lieutenant, dive rescue captain, director, chief, assistant chief and first vice president at Gamber. He has earned numerous awards, served on committees, and been association first and second vice president.

The Hall of Fame program, started in 1980, inducts three new members at the annual convention. Carroll Community College is home to the Hall of Fame wall with plaques of all the members' names.

The Hall of Fame Committee had 14 candidates this year from eight departments, said Chairman Ricky Baker Jr. Committee members review the applications and pick three inductees.

"We're looking for service to the company and the community," Baker said. "It's not just the length of time, but what they did in that time."

The CCVESA Scholarship Committee also awarded two scholarships at the convention to students pursuing a career in emergency services.

William J. Flanagan, a senior at Liberty High School from Sykesville, and Nicholas S. Hornberger, a student at the University of Maryland Baltimore County's paramedic program, each received a $1,000 scholarship.

Hornberger, of Manchester, also received an association scholarship last year. Flanagan plans to attend the University of Maryland College Park's fire protection engineering program.

Both belong to their local fire companies.

The scholarship program is geared toward students seeking a degree in fire or emergency medical services or a related emergency services field, said Marianne Warehime, a committee member.

"We're looking for people who are particularly interested in the fire company and belong to a fire company, or whose parents or grandparents belong to a fire company," Warehime said. "Any student, in a private or public school, or even out-of-state, can apply as long as they have that connection to a fire company."

Five students applied for this year's scholarship, she said.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.