Glenelg defeats Centennial to win 3A-2A South title

Braun breaks tie with 24 seconds left

Glenelg 9 Centennial 8

Boys lacrosse

May 17, 2007|By Lem Satterfield | Lem Satterfield,Sun reporter

Josh Braun scored his second goal of the game off a ground-ball pickup with 24 seconds left to cap visiting Glenelg's come-from-behind, 9-8 victory over Centennial last night for the Class 3A-2A South region title.

Chris Gotschall (two goals, three assists), John Derwent (two goals) and Tyler Buford (one, one) were the top scorers for the Gladiators (13-3), who meet Urbana of Frederick County tomorrow or Saturday at Reservoir in their first semifinal since 2005.

Shane Jaeger (five goals, one assist), Jonathan Stumpf (two, one) and Mark Watson (one, one) led Centennial (14-4), which had not trailed before Braun's goal. The Gladiators had tied the game three times.

"I was in a scrum, saw the ball pop out, ran over, picked it up," said Braun, a 5-foot-7 junior who completed a three-goal run by the Gladiators. "There was only a few seconds left, so I shot it underhanded from five, six yards. It's awesome since we'd been down the whole game."

Coach Josh Hatmaker called the win especially sweet after having suffered a 6-2 loss at Centennial on May 1 that prevented last year's league champion from facing last year's 3A-2A state champion, Mount Hebron, in the inaugural Howard County title game. Centennial lost to Mount Hebron in overtime only to avenge the loss, 6-5, in an overtime region semifinal.

"Playoffs are where it counts. These were revenge games," said Gotschall, a junior who assisted Ryan Dougherty to make it 8-7 before Eagles goalie Eric Joerdens (11 saves) inadvertently tied the game.

"He pulled a little too hard and it rolled right between his legs," said Centennial coach Mike Siegert, who credited Joerdens With an otherwise stellar effort. "It hurts when that happens, but it's part of the game."

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.