C.M. Wright nips Rising Sun, wins baseball crown

Mt. Hebron girls prevail again in lacrosse

Spring sports

May 10, 2007|By Pat O'Malley, Katherine Dunn and Glenn Graham | Pat O'Malley, Katherine Dunn and Glenn Graham,Sun Reporters

Junior Jordan Wlodarczyk singled to center to score two runs in a four-run sixth inning as No. 5 C. Milton Wright edged Rising Sun, 6-4, to win its first Upper Chesapeake Bay Athletic Conference baseball championship at Ripken Stadium in Aberdeen last night.

It was the Mustangs' 16th consecutive win as they ran their record to 19-1. Both teams advanced to what was the fourth final in UCBAC history by winning their respective divisions with a 12-0 record, C.M. Wright the Chesapeake and Rising Sun the Susquehanna.

Rising Sun ace Brendan McCreary took a 4-2 lead into the top of the sixth in a sloppy game in which the winners committed four errors and the losers five. Both teams left 23 runners on base, including 12 by C.M. Wright.

The Tigers (15-4) committed four of their errors in the crucial sixth and Wlodarczyk delivered his third hit of the game to cap it.

"I saw the ball pretty good tonight and I guessed he was throwing me a curve, stayed back and hit the ball, " Wlodarczyk said.

"Freshman Brad Markey came in and held the game together and did a nice job for us."

Markey (5-0) relieved starter T.J. Vernes in the fourth with one out and held the Tigers scoreless the rest of the way, giving up four hits and striking out five.

Girls lacrosse

No. 1 Mount Hebron 17, No. 10 Glenelg 7 --The Vikings won their 17th straight Howard County championship, but it didn't come in the usual fashion. In the past, the regular-season winner claimed the title. This season, the Vikings (14-1) won the first-ever title game.

"It's definitely special," said Vikings junior Alicia Krause. "Usually, it's just handed to us at the end of the season and this time we had to earn it tonight and we did awesome at it. We worked as a team together and it was so much fun."

Krause had a lot of fun, contributing four goals and six assists. She scored three of the first four goals as Mount Hebron broke out to a 6-1 lead. The Gladiators (12-2) chipped back to within 7-3, but the Vikings reeled off three goals to end the half.

After Krause scored again to open the second half, Glenelg cut it to 11-6 on consecutive goals from Lauren Giraldi, Julianne Nicola and Kristen Keravich, but could get no closer.


No. 14 Dulaney 9, Catonsville 4 --Dulaney captured its first Baltimore County championship in 12 years with a 9-4 win over Catonsville yesterday with everybody making an impact.

The No. 14 Lions (15-3) pounded out 16 hits - getting started with a four-run second inning - and pitcher Katie Moelter allowed just two earned runs in the win.

Everybody in the lineup got a hit with Michelle Barwick, Brittany Frankenfeld and Jamie Eckenrode leading the way. Barwick and Frankenfeld both finished with a double, single and three RBIs, while Eckenrode reached base all four times with a home run, two singles and a walk.

After Barwick hit a two-out, two run single to give the Lions a 2-0 lead in the second, Frankenfeld drove her home with a double and scored on a single by Sarah Kutzburger.

After the Comets (10-7) cut the lead to 4-2 in the top of the third, Dulaney answered with two more in their half with Eckenrode's bases-empty homer over the fence in left the highlight.

"We've been waiting four years for this, working very hard and we've really gelled as a team. It's so exciting when everybody is hitting the ball so well. You just can't wait to get up to the plate, contribute and get RBIs to help the team win," said Barwick, the senior shortstop and a team captain.

The Comets got two doubles from catcher April Terzi with right fielder Caitlin McCleary providing a double and single.

No. 11 John Carroll 1, No. 2 Archbishop Spalding 0 --With a strong pitching performance from senior Angela DiBeneditto and a run in the top of the seventh inning, the Patriots claimed a 1-0 upset win over the two-time defending Interscholastic Athletic Association of Maryland A Conference champion Cavaliers in the semifinals .

The Patriots will make their first championship game appearance on Saturday - taking on No. 1 Seton Keough at Harford Community College.

Senior catcher Nicole Lowenstein produced a one-out double down the third-base line and, with Faith Reilly pinch running, first baseman Katie O'Hara drove in the winning run with a bloop single to center.

DiBeneditto, who allowed just two hits and struck out 10, retired the Cavaliers (15-5) in order in the last of the seventh.

"Angela has been keeping us in games all season and to give up just two hits against Spalding - with how well they hit the ball - is unbelievable," said John Carroll coach Sherry Hudson. "The kids were on the bus ride home saying `Can you believe we're in the championship game?' They just feel like they're rolling right now and the confidence is really high."

Spalding All-Metro senior pitcher Stephanie Weigman limited the Patriots to three hits with 11 strikeouts in closing a fine four-year career.

No. 1 Seton Keough 1, No. 4 Institute of Notre Dame -- Michelle Campbell's one-out line drive single in the eighth inning lifted the Gators (15-3) over the visiting Indians (17-6) in the IAAM's other semifinal. Campbell's hit, scoring Carley Reed, ended a pitching-dominated game. Seton Keough's Carly Martin allowed only one hit and two walks while striking 12. Notre Dame's Colleen Matthes struck out eight, while giving up only four hits and two walks.

Hammond 5, Glenelg 0 -- Right-hander Stephanie Speierman pitched a two-hitter and struck out 17 as the host Bears (17-1) beat the Gladiators to win the Howard County championship for the first time in school history. Offensively, Speierman went 3-for-3 with a walk and a run scored. Janice Rattigan went 3-for-3 with an RBI and a run scored.

pat.omalley@baltsun.com katherine.dunn@baltsun.com glenn.graham@baltsun.com

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.