Incumbents ousted in Sykesville election

May 02, 2007|By Laura McCandlish | Laura McCandlish,Sun Reporter

A slate of three newcomers won seats on the Sykesville Town Council, ousting three incumbents in a nonpartisan election yesterday.

Pharmaceutical representative Frank Robert, accountant Scott D. Sanzone and attorney and real estate agent Leo J. Keenan III received the most votes among seven candidates vying for three seats.

They defeated Council President Mark Rychwalski, a loan officer, and incumbents Russ Vreeland, an accountant, and Jim Kelley, director of sales for a transportation logistics company, who had all hoped their experience would help them stay in office.

The fourth challenger, Jonathan Caplan, a trial attorney and chairman of Sykesville's Historic District Commission, finished last, trailing Vreeland by five votes.

Last fall, Caplan and Sanzone interviewed for a council seat vacated by Ed Cinkole. The mayor and town council apppointed Kelley to the seat.

In campaigning, Robert, Sanzone and Keenan said their business backgrounds would help them better manage the town's budget and promote commercial development.

Town Manager Matthew Candland said about 550 people cast ballots -- slightly less than 25 percent of Sykesville's registered voters. He announced the results shortly after 11 p.m. after the paper ballots had been tallied. Three of the council's six seats were up for grabs, with the others subject to election in 2009.

The new members are to begin their four-year terms at the May 14 council meeting.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.