Fallston handles Westminster, 9-5

Mull's 5 points spark Cougars

Cummings leads No. 4 Loyola's rout of No. 11 Dulaney

Boys lacrosse

April 10, 2007|By Lem Satterfield | Lem Satterfield,Sun Reporter

By scoring three goals on its first four shots, Fallston displayed its offensive potency early in yesterday's 9-5 victory over Carroll County champion Westminster in the 11th Maryland High School Lacrosse Showdown at Johns Hopkins.

Sophomore Patrick Mull had two goals and three assists, and Chad Palmer and Luke Raab each had three goals and an assist for the Cougars (6-0).

"We kept our composure and didn't get crazy when they came back on us," said Raab, a junior whose Cougars broke a 3-3 tie in the second quarter with a three-goal run on their way to taking a 6-4 halftime lead. "We settled down and pulled it out."

James Dougherty (two goals, one assist) and Ben Stewart (two goals) led Westminster (2-4), which was within 6-5 at 4:32 of the third quarter before Fallston finished with another three-goal run.

"We're up and down at times, but it's a talented bunch," coach Matt Parks said. "Hopefully, soon, we'll put four quarters together."

The defense of Dennis Roche, Dave New, Nelson Hannahs, Tom Amos and goalie Brad Motley (seven saves) has not allowed Fallston to trail in any game this season.

"We can't lay back and coast," said Palmer, a senior. "We keep playing, fighting hard, no matter how much time is left."

Fallston's record includes a 15-3 rout of Baltimore County champion Franklin and Saturday's 10-8 win over previously unbeaten Maryland Interscholastic Athletic Association B Conference stalwart Archbishop Curley.

No. 4 Loyola 10, No. 11 Dulaney 1 -- Joe Cummings had four goals and two assists to lead the Dons (3-2). Steele Stanwick (one goal, two assists) and goalie M.J. Leonard (10 saves) also played well against the Lions (4-3), last year's Class 4A-3A state runners-up.


Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.