County teachers honored

April 08, 2007

The Carroll County Chamber of Commerce recognized 223 county public schoolteachers nominated for the 19th annual Outstanding Teacher Awards on Wednesday at Winters Mill High School.

Eight teachers were honored as Teachers of the Year: Antonina Wallace, Carrolltowne Elementary; M. Lynn Earp, Winters Mill High; Rebecca A. Miller, Cranberry Station Elementary; Lori A. Hayman, Sandymount Elementary; Timothy J. Durkin, Liberty High; Richard W. Thompson, West Middle; Ruth A. Mason, Freedom Elementary; and Hanna S. McNett, North Carroll High.

Students, parents, teachers and school administrators can nominate a teacher. Nominations include information on how a teacher inspires students and how they apply what they learn to the real world.

Each teacher received a plaque and a cash award. The Carroll County Teacher of the Year will be chosen from this group in May. That candidate will be Carroll County's representative for the Maryland Teacher of the Year Program.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.