Two men sentenced to 45 years each in kidnapping of officer

March 21, 2007|By Julie Bykowicz | Julie Bykowicz,Sun Reporter

Two Baltimore men who kidnapped and robbed an off-duty city police officer were each sentenced yesterday to 45 years in prison.

This month, a city jury convicted Timothy Brockington, 28, and Tyrone Gross, 34, of kidnapping, carjacking and robbery. The two were caught after the kidnapped and blindfolded officer freed himself and shot the two men with his service weapon.

Officer Antwan Boykin, who joined the force in 1999, was in his personal car about 1:30 a.m. July 5, 2005, when three men approached him at a gas station in the 500 block of E. Mulberry St.

One man drove off with Boykin's car while another forced Boykin at gunpoint into a burgundy Lincoln driven by a third man.

Inside the Lincoln, Boykin was robbed and struck in the head with the gun as the car headed toward the 1100 block of Myrtle Ave. There, the pair blindfolded Boykin, walked him down an alley and talked about stashing him in a vacant rowhouse.

At that point, Boykin was able to grab his service weapon and shoot both of them as he fled. Boykin flagged down a passer-by and called 911.

Police found Brockington in the rear yard and Gross in the front yard of a house in the 1100 block of Myrtle Ave. The man who took Boykin's car was not found.

Circuit Judge David Ross sentenced Brockington and Gross to 45 years apiece - two concurrent 30-year terms for the kidnapping and carjacking convictions and one consecutive 15-year term for the robbery conviction.

Because Gross, of the 1700 block of St. Paul St., is a three-time felon, he must serve the first 25 years without the possibility of parole, prosecutors said. The shooting left Brockington, of the 4700 block of Ivanhoe Ave., paralyzed from the waist down.

Boykin works in the Northwestern District, police said.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.