Football Scholar Athletes

March 07, 2007

The Greater Baltimore Chapter of the National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame will sponsor the Scholar Athlete Awards Dinner tonight at Martin's West in Woodlawn. The dinner will honor 91 football scholar athletes from Baltimore City and Anne Arundel, Baltimore, Carroll, Frederick, Harford and Howard counties. Five regional scholarship winners will be selected, with one of the five being selected as the grand winner. A total of $15,000 in scholarship money will be awarded to the winners, an increase of $5,000 from last year. In addition to the five scholar athletes, special achievement awards will be presented to Class 2A champion Edmondson and Class 1A champion Dunbar. The Sun's high school sports columnist, Milton Kent, will be master of ceremonies. Tickets are available at $50 per person by calling 410-668-6901.

The athletes

Amine Alaoui, Towson; Nile Alexander, Milford Mill; Joshua Appold, Havre de Grace; Matthew Barbusca, Reservoir; Keith Barnwell II, Forest Park; Alex Bechta, Centennial; Alexander Boddiford, Loyola; Jacob Bohn, Mount St. Joseph; Justin Boy, Atholton; Don Brown, Carver. Justin Butler, Western Tech; David Canada Jr., Frederick; Justin Chura, Southern-AA; Robert Ciancaglini, Broadneck; Irwin Coleman, Owings Mills; Dionta Cox, Edmondson; Daniel Cremens, Westminster; Andrew Curley, Glenelg; Scott Dagley, Wilde Lake; Nathan Dalpini, Arundel. Jack Dudley Jr., Boys' Latin; Richard Edwards, Aberdeen; Christian Emezie, Poly; Timothy Godwin, Dundalk; Jeffrey Gray, South River; Christopher Hale, City; Travis Hamburg, Kenwood; Morgan Hankin, Franklin; Ryan Hayes, Patapsco; Mark Hepburn, Severna Park. Zachary Holbrook, Severn; Timothy Hoy, Hereford; Evan Humphrey, Glen Burnie; William Hyson, Francis Scott Key; Alexander Iwaskiw, Mount Hebron; Justin Jackson, Southside Academy; Daron Jones, Cardinal Gibbons; Dan Jones, Eastern Tech; Cory Jones, Liberty; Jimmie Joyner, Mervo. David Klein, McDonogh; George Kues III, North Carroll; Gregory Lomb, Middletown; William Matthews, Douglass; Jason Mattison, Perry Hall; Clifton May, Linganore; Stephen McKenzie, Chesapeake-AA; Colin McKevitt, Hammond; Zackery Meirick, Northeast; David Menasche, Winters Mill. Michael Moss, St. Paul's; Joshua Motter, Archbishop Curley; Kenneth Mudrick, Loch Raven; Kevin Murphy, Sparrows Point; Robert Mutschler, Archbishop Spalding; Jamel Mutunga, Bel Air; Kevin O'Brien, Long Reach; Andrew Parkinson, Gilman; Kevin Parrish, Urbana; Darren Pastrana, St. Mary's. Ryan Pentz, Century; Mark Peterson, Joppatowne; Nathan Plotner, Chesapeake-B.C.; Nathaniel Potter, Parkville; Ian Quirk, Tuscarora; Gregory Raszewski, Annapolis; Kyle Rate, C. Milton Wright; Matthew Reek, Dulaney; Gabriel Retana, Thomas Johnson; David Ringold, South Carroll. Zach Robinson, River Hill; James Ryan, Edgewood; Ross Scarcia, St. Vincent Pallotti; Bradley Shepherd, Oakland Mills; Jonathan Smith, Patterson; Darren Smith, Woodlawn; Rickey Smith II, Walkersville; Anthony Smooth, Dunbar; Justin Snyder, Overlea; Brian Sorace, Friends. Daniel Steele, Howard; Nicholas Stiles, Catoctin; Jesse Tomczak, Calvert Hall; Kenneth Tozzi Jr., Fallston; Joseph Travers, Old Mill; Mark Varvaris, North Harford; John Von Paris, John Carroll; Grant Wilson, Brunswick; Branden Wright, Du Bois; Darren Yelverton, New Town; Matthew Ziegler, Pikesville.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.