McDonogh's Schenk wins National Prep

Mt. St. Joe's Bohn, Curley's Kulik join him


February 26, 2007|By Lem Satterfield | Lem Satterfield,SUN REPORTER

A few hours after his attacking style and unbreakable holds helped him to earn his first National Prep title Saturday night, McDonogh freshman Nick Schenk had a firm grip on a large soda and alternately bit down on clusters of chicken nuggets.

"This is the first time I've eaten anything like this in the last five, six months," said Schenk, 15, whose dedication to a diet including "three salads a day" maintained his 103-pound weight class.

Schenk's discipline paid off at Pennsylvania's Lehigh University, where he won all five of his bouts and joined Archbishop Curley's Mike Kulik (160) and Mount St. Joseph's Jake Bohn (189) in becoming National Prep champs for the first time.

Schenk scored a pin, two major decisions and two decisions - the last, by 3-0, to defeat Germantown Academy's Pat Owens for the third time this season as he improved to 50-0.

"You don't expect to go undefeated your first year of high school, but I wanted to try my hardest to do it," said Schenk, who will take "two or three weeks off" from wrestling.

A runner-up in last year's event, Bohn, a senior, also had a pin, two decisions and two major decisions, including a 9-6 title-bout victory over previously undefeated Ben Grisz of St. Mark's (Texas).

Kulik pinned twice and earned a major decision as well as two decisions, the last of which was over St. Benedict's (N.J.) Manny Hickson for the title. Archbishop Curley's Mitch Fenton (130) was the Baltimore area's only other finalist, finishing second.

Placing third were Mount St. Joseph's Frank Goodwin (103) and McDonogh's Josh Fitch (125). Finishing fourth were McDonogh's Albert Woody (112) and Shane Milam (145), Archbishop Curley's Tyler Scarinzi (119) and Josh Boler (215) and Calvert Hall's Bill Gialamis (103).

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.