Family Finds

Treasures of the past on view at show to benefit service agency

February 22, 2007|By Gena R. Chattin | Gena R. Chattin,sun reporter

Baltimore antiques dealer Marcia Moylan said the 1796 pendant that she and fellow dealer Jacqueline Smelkinson will exhibit at this week's Hunt Valley Antiques Show "reads like the first obituary ever written."

She's only half joking.

She said the 4-by-3-inch pearl and enamel pendant is covered in words extolling the virtues of a young woman who died more than two centuries ago.

She was "clearly the apple of her parents' eye," Moylan said.

That pendant and thousands of other antiques that have touched many families' lives get the chance to do so again this weekend. A portion of ticket sales from the 37th annual Hunt Valley Antiques Show will benefit Family and Children's Services of Central Maryland.

More than 40 dealers from across the nation will attend the event, bringing along treasures as diverse as antique maps and period furniture. Baltimore dealers Drusilla's Books and the Spare Room will be among the exhibitors.

In addition to ticket sales, the show will host two fundraisers to further benefit the service agency. Tonight's fundraiser is a preview party that will give an early look to antiquers who can't wait another day to see the show. Attendees will have a private viewing and can bid in an auction that also benefits Family and Children's Services.

Tomorrow's fundraiser is a presentation by author and appraiser Frank Farmer Loomis IV. Loomis, who is author of the books Antiques 101: A Crash Course in Everything Antique and The Secrets to Affordable Antiques: How to Buy More for Less, will reveal his own antiquing secrets in a lecture before the show.

In the vein of Antiques Roadshow, Loomis will select a few would-be treasures at random from the audience for appraisal. Guests are asked to limit brought items to one per ticketholder. Items should be small enough to carry by hand and should not include jewelry, guns or coins.

gena.chattin@baltsun.com

The Hunt Valley Antiques Show will run tomorrow-Sunday at the Holiday Inn Select, 2004 Greenspring Drive, Timonium. Hours are 11 a.m.-8 p.m. tomorrow, 11 a.m.-7 p.m. Saturday and 11 a.m.-5 p.m. Sunday. The Preview Party will be at 6 p.m. today and the Frank Farmer Loomis IV presentation will be at 9:30 a.m. tomorrow. Admission to the show is $12 daily. Preview party tickets are $115 at the door. Loomis presentation tickets are $50 in advance, $60 at the door and include a day pass to the show. Call 410-366-1980, ext. 245 or go to fcsmd.org/events/huntvalleyantiques.htm.

Baltimore Sun Articles
|
|
|
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.