Ulman retains 7 county leaders

February 14, 2007|By Larry Carson | Larry Carson,Sun Reporter

Howard County Executive Ken Ulman announced yesterday that he has retained the directors of seven county departments and has named Bob Francis, the acting director of Inspections, Permits and Licenses, as the agency's permanent leader.

"This is my team," Ulman said in an announcement. "We took the time we felt was necessary to evaluate these positions and these directors, and I believe we have an incredibly good mix of steady senior leadership along with a few fresh faces with new ideas."

Those retained from the Robey administration are Fire Chief Joseph Herr; Planning Director Marsha S. McLaughlin; Public Works Director James M. Irvin; Recreation and Parks Director Gary Arthur; Finance Director Sharon Greisz; Corrections Director Melanie Pereira; and Citizens Services Director Susan Rosenbaum.

FOR THE RECORD - In an article in Wednesday's Howard County Sun, the status of a county government department head was incorrectly reported. Bob Francis is continuing as the acting director of inspections, licenses and permits. The Sun regrets the error.

Ulman is looking for a new county solicitor to replace Barbara Cook, who is retiring March 1.

Ulman earlier appointed acting police chief William McMahon to the post permanently and hired seven top appointees for other agencies.

Those hired were Ronald Weinstein as budget director; Lonnie Robbins as chief administrative officer; Aaron Greenfield as chief of staff; Stacy Spann as housing director; Ira Levy as technology director; C. Vernon Gray as administrator of the Office of Human Rights; and Kevin Enright as communications director. Ulman also hired Dr. Peter L. Beilenson to replace Dr. Penny Borenstein as the county's health officer.

The County Council is interviewing candidates for the post of county auditor, the job Weinstein held before moving to the budget office.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.