Carroll Digest


January 28, 2007

McDaniel College to honor King

McDaniel College will recognize the life and legacy of the Rev. Martin Luther King Jr. in a program featuring performance artist and actor Jim Lucas at 6:30 p.m. tomorrow in McDaniel College's WMC Alumni Hall.

The celebration will include musical presentations, a candle lighting ceremony, awards and recitations and interpretive readings depicting King's life by Lucas.

The public is welcome.

Information: 410-857-2294.

Leaders chosen for Carroll delegation

Maryland House Minority Leader Anthony J. O'Donnell (District 29-C) has chosen members of the Carroll County delegation for leadership positions for the 2007 General Assembly session.

Del. Nancy Stocksdale (District 5-A) was chosen assistant minority leader.

Del. Susan Krebs (District 9-B) was selected as co-vice chair of the Republican Steering Committee.

Del. Donald Elliott (District 4-B) was named a ranking member of the Health and Government Operations Committee.

Del. Tanya Shewell (District 5-A) was named a deputy whip.

Crossroad Cafe seeks volunteers

Carroll County Public Library is looking for volunteers ages 16 and older to assist with a new initiative, Crossroads Cafe.

The program was designed by the library, Carroll Community College and the Literacy Council of Carroll County to allow English language learners to study at their own pace while receiving guidance and social support. Training will be provided. Programs are held at these library branches: North Carroll, 2255 Hanover Pike, Greenmount, from 5:30 p.m. to 8:30 p.m. Monday and Wednesday, 410-386-4480; Westminster, 50 E. Main St., from 5:30 p.m. to 8:30 p.m. Tuesday and 9:30 a.m. to 12:30 p.m. Saturday, 410-386-4490; and Mount Airy, 705 Ridge Ave., from 5:30 p.m. to 8:30 p.m. Monday and Thursday, 410-386-4470 or 301-829-5290.

Information: 410-386-4450, ext. 733.

Krebs recognized for perfect attendance

Del. Susan Krebs (District 9-B) has been recognized by a Maryland-based nonpartisan watchdog group for her perfect attendance during the 2006 General Assembly.

She was one of 10 legislators presented with the Lighthouse Award from the Maryland Accountability Project for perfect attendance at all regular and special sessions of last year's legislature.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.