Forum to address priorities for Freedom area

January 14, 2007|By David P. Greisman | David P. Greisman,[Special to the Sun]

Concerns about continuing development in the southeast corner of Carroll County may be a topic of discussion when residents of the Freedom area meet with two of the county's three commissioners Thursday.

The event, which coincides with an annual drafting of priorities by the Freedom Area Citizens' Council, will allow residents to address local government leaders. It will provide a forum for commissioners Michael D. Zimmer and Julia Walsh Gouge to discuss their goals and coming projects. Commissioner Dean L. Minnich has another engagement and will not attend the meeting.

"A lot of people don't know how to get in contact with the county commissioners, or they're apprehensive about it," said Nicole Musgrave-Burdette, president of the citizens' council, which is sponsoring the forum. "This sort of gives them ... something where they're not on the spot. It's not one-on-one. It also makes the government more personal ... if they can put a face to the name."

Though Musgrave-Burdette said her group does not have a specific agenda for the meeting, she expects audience members may speak about concerns that include the development of townhouses that may affect area schools and roads, work at the intersection of Liberty Road and Route 32, and the possible addition of another grocery store in Eldersburg.

"These are things that we hear repeatedly at meetings or that I see in the newspapers being covered a lot or in letters to the editor," Musgrave-Burdette said.

Zimmer, an Eldersburg resident who has attended past citizens' council meetings, said the session can produce a variety of questions.

The meeting will be at 7:30 p.m. at the Freedom Christian Church in the Carrolltowne Center in Eldersburg. Information: 443-520-6724.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.