Panthers solved by Holy Cross

D.C.-area power wins rematch at IAABO

Holy Cross 62 No. 1 St. Frances 51

Girls basketball

December 30, 2006|By Glenn Graham | Glenn Graham,Sun reporter

SPRINGDALE -- Faced with the task of beating a quality team a second time in nine days, the St. Frances girls basketball team couldn't find an answer against D.C.-area power Holy Cross in last night's International Association of Approved Basketball Officials Christmas Tournament championship game at C.H. Flowers High School.

The Tartans, ranked third by The Washington Post, led from the opening possession, built a 14-point lead in the second quarter and had an answer every time the No. 1 Panthers got close to come away with a 62-51 win.

The Panthers (8-3) got 13 points from Mi-Khida Hankins and a 12-point, 16-rebound effort from Kandice Green, but it wasn't enough to counter Brittany Poindexter (21 points) and the Tartans.

"Kandice Green getting in foul trouble early really hurt us; we needed her in the first half," said Jerome Shelton, whose Panthers came away with a 65-51 win over Holy Cross on Dec. 20.

"I think we settled for too many jump shots and didn't go to the basket as much to get to the free-throw line like we did the first time."

A follow from Poindexter gave the Tartans their biggest lead at 27-13 with 3:49 left in the first half. The Panthers were able to cut the lead to four with 23 seconds left in the third quarter, but Shontice Simons hit a three-pointer with 13 seconds left in the quarter and the Tartans opened the fourth quarter with an 11-4 run to put the game out of reach.

Arundel 67, Western 54 -- Freshman forward Sherrone Vails finished with a game-high 17 points and nine rebounds to lead the Wildcats (5-3) to a fifth-place finish in the 18-team field. Vails was one of three players to reach double figures for the Wildcats. Western (5-3) got 15 points from Mischa Minor.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.