7 seek empty council seats

December 13, 2006|By Nia-Malika Henderson | Nia-Malika Henderson,Sun Reporter

Seven candidates are running for the vacant Annapolis city council seats in Wards 4 and 8, after meeting Monday's filing deadline

Democrats Brian D. Tucker and Sheila M. Finlayson of Ward 4 will be on the Jan. 2 primary ballot to replace Wayne Taylor, who stepped down to head the Anne Arundel County Department of Aging and Disabilities. The winner will face Republican James M. Conley in the general election Jan. 30.

In Ward 8, Republicans Frank B. Bradley and Joel Saline are vying for their party's nomination, and Ross Arnett and Paul Foer will meet in the Democratic primary to replace Josh Cohen, who resigned to represent District 6 on the County Council.

Newly elected aldermen will be sworn in Feb. 12.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.