Education Notes


November 12, 2006|By Anica Butler

Academy alumnus gets dean post

Bruce Latta, a retired Navy captain and former vice dean of admissions, has been named the Naval Academy's dean of admissions. He will assume his duties this month.

A 1978 graduate of the academy, Latta was a naval aviator in anti-submarine and maritime surveillance, flying the P-3 Orion. He retired from active service Oct. 1.

Crafters needed for holiday fair

Arundel High School is seeking crafters for its 14th annual Holiday Craft Fair to be held Dec. 9 from 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.

Openings are for handcrafted materials only. Spaces are 10 feet by 6 feet and 9 feet by 9 feet, and the cost is $30 per space.

The fair is a major fundraiser for Arundel's Forensics Club, Key Club and Band.

Information: Carol Myers, 410-923-6677.

Head of AACC wins Pacesetter award

Anne Arundel Community College President Martha A. Smith has won a 2006 District Pacesetter of the Year Award from the National Council for Marketing and Public Relations for demonstrating leadership and for her strong commitment to marketing and communications while at AACC.

She received the award Monday during a conference in Lancaster, Pa.

Smith is now a finalist for the organization's National Pacesetter Award.

Among her cited accomplishments are national, regional and state recognition of AACC programs, initiatives, students and faculty; the successful launch of community outreach programs embracing new technologies such as virtual open houses; and her leadership role in national and state organizations, including the 20-member board of directors of the international League for Innovation in the Community College.

Smith earned a bachelor's degree in chemistry from Slippery Rock University in Pennsylvania, a master's in educational psychology from the University of Hawaii and a doctorate in higher education administration from the University of Northern Colorado.

Before becoming AACC's fifth president in 1994, she was president of Dundalk Community College for seven years.

Principal one of 18 to receive award

Millersville Elementary School Principal Diana Strohecker has been named by The Washington Post as one of 18 principals in the Baltimore-Washington area to receive a Distinguished Educational Leadership Award.

Strohecker has spent nearly three decades as a teacher and administrator in Anne Arundel County Public Schools. She earned her master's and doctorate degrees from the Johns Hopkins University and began her career with the county schools in 1978 as a first-grade teacher at Central Elementary School before shifting into administration in 1992. From 1992 to 1995, she was an assistant principal at Rippling Woods Elementary School, then became principal of Millersville Elementary in 1996.

Breakfast to honor Martin Luther King

Tickets are being sold for the 26th annual Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Memorial Breakfast at Anne Arundel Community College.

The breakfast is set for 8 a.m. Jan. 15 in the David S. Jenkins Gymnasium on the AACC Arnold campus, 101 College Parkway. Tickets cost $25; or $250 for a table for 10.

Sponsors include AACC, the city of Annapolis, Anne Arundel County public schools, the Anne Arundel County Executive's Office and Anne Arundel Medical Center.

The breakfast honors local residents and civic leaders who best emulate King's spirit and salutes the winners of the Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Essay Contest, sponsored by the Annapolis chapter of the Links Inc.

Tax-deductible donations to underwrite the breakfast also are welcome, payable to MLK Committee, P.O. Box 371, Annapolis 21404. Proceeds go toward paying for the new King memorial statue on the college's Arnold campus.

Information, tickets: 410-222-1821 or 410-777-2769.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.