Towson boys put an end to Dulaney's dominance

Lions' 6-year title streak over

Dulaney girls win

Cross Country

October 29, 2006|By Jeff Seidel | Jeff Seidel,Special To The Sun

The Towson boys pulled a surprise at yesterday's Baltimore County Cross Country Championship, upsetting host Dulaney and ending the Lions' six-year title streak.

The Generals got strong performances from their top five of Mason Campbell (third), Timmy Powers (eighth), Jay Thierer (12th), Ben Ostrow (15th) and Blake Davis (16th) to finish with 54 points, rolling past the Lions (65) and Hereford (71).

Towson came in second last year, falling short of Dulaney by nine points, but got the job done this time, winning its first county title since the mid-1980s.

FOR THE RECORD - In the sports section Sunday, the name of the boys winner in the Baltimore County Cross County Championships was reported incorrectly. The winning runner was Dwight Parker of Woodlawn High.
The Sun regrets the error.

"That was pretty awesome," Generals coach Ed Faya said. "That was the most incredible performance I've seen out of a Towson team in the eight years that I've been with them."

Woodlawn's Dwight Malloy won his third straight individual championship, finishing in 16 minutes, 23.2 seconds and beating out the Lions' Vince Walsh (16:37.8).

Dulaney narrowly avoided trouble on the girls' side as the fourth-ranked Lions tied No. 10 Hereford for first but won the championship on the tiebreaker. Both teams finished with 50 points, but Dulaney's sixth-place finisher ended up ahead of Hereford's, giving the Lions the title.

Kristen Malloy of Hereford won the race in 18:55.4, handily beating teammate Marta Randall (19:49.3). Malloy finished second in last year's race and has been strong this season, scoring a record-setting run at the Bull Run Invitational last month.

Erica Stegman helped Hereford with a 10th-place finish. But Dulaney also put three in the top 10 - Kelly Rush (third), Kate Askine (fifth) and Anjelica DiNucci (ninth), and the Lions had just enough to win their 17th consecutive title.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.