5-for-5, F.S. Key sweeps to Carroll County title

Cross Country

October 27, 2006|By Jeff Seidel | Jeff Seidel,Special To The Sun

The Francis Scott Key boys were perfect at yesterday's Carroll County cross country championship.

The third-ranked Eagles swept the first five places for a perfect score of 15 and an easy victory at South Carroll. This could be the first time any team got a perfect score in county history, according to meet organizers.

Jared Welsh won the race for Key in a time of 17 minutes, 19 seconds on the cool afternoon. He beat teammate Arthur Leathers by nine seconds. Colin Fearns finished third (17:42), nipping fellow Eagles Jordan White (17:45) and Zach Holz (17:46).

"They were just perfect," South Carroll coach Rob Pennington said. "They did it all."

That left second place as the only question in the team standings. South Carroll hung on for second with 72 points, edging Westminster (76) and Liberty (83).

C.J. Naper and Doug Findeisen were the only South Carroll runners to finish in the top 10, taking sixth and ninth, respectively.

Century had a tougher time in winning the girls race. The Knights took two of the top four spots to edge South Carroll.

Century finished with 48 points, beating South Carroll (54). Winters Mill took third with 87 points, holding off Liberty (90).

North Carroll's Katie Hursey won the individual race in 20:05.9, easily beating Century's Carly Reid (21:13). But the Knights also got a fourth-place finish from Kirsten McGovern (21:42) that played a big role in their victory.

Emily Powell, Catherine Robinson and Rachel Sykes finished in the top 10 for South Carroll.

UCBAC Championship

The No. 6 Bel Air boys and the second-ranked C.M. Wright girls won titles in the Upper Chesapeake Bay Athletic Conference championship at Jerusalem Mill.

Bel Air put four runners in the top 10 to finish with 29 points and beat No. 9 C.M. Wright (46) in the boys race. Brandon Ropiski took second (16:09.80) for Bel Air and teammates Andrew Mahone (fourth), Alex Lohrman (fifth) and Elliott Mattson (sixth) all ended up in the top 10.

Matt Povonche won the race for C.M. Wright in 15:59.70.

Chris League was the fifth Bobcat to finish. He ended up 12th overall and helped to the Bobcats to the title.

Peter Houlihan (third) and Paul Otradavec (eighth) both finished in the top 10 for the Mustangs, but they didn't have enough to catch Bel Air.

C.M. Wright put four runners in the top 10 to score its victory in the girls race. The Mustangs finished with 26 points to beat out Bel Air (41) and Fallston (71).

Sara Bailey won the race for the Mustangs in 19:13.56, beating out Perryville's Cara Richardson (19:26.91). But C.M. Wright also got top-10 help from Lindsay Smith (third), Erica Scripa (fifth) and Hannah McKenzie (seventh).

Shannon Rafferty (14th) was the fifth Mustang finisher, and helped C.M. Wright seal the title.

Bel Air fared nearly as well, putting four in the top 10, but the Bobcats didn't have quite enough to match the deep Mustangs.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.