Legislative districts

Maryland Votes 2006

October 24, 2006

Baltimore County

District 6: Veteran Democratic Sen. Norman R. Stone Jr. is a Baltimore County institution, a steady, unflappable presence on the Judicial Proceedings Committee, an advocate for middle-class working people, and our choice in this east-side district. The House races offer voters an opportunity to return some equally qualified Democratic incumbents: Dels. Joseph "Sonny" Minnick, John Olszewski Jr. and Mike Weir Jr. have proved their value in the General Assembly.

District 7: In contrast, the voters in this sprawling district that runs from Cockeysville to Middle River and into southern Harford County should demand a change in leadership. Our choice for the Senate is Democrat Patricia A. Foerster, a former teacher and longtime education advocate with a thoughtful and progressive view of the issues, over incumbent Andrew P. Harris, a leading opponent of embryonic stem cell research. Conservative Republican J. B. Jennings merits a return to the House, but alongside him we endorse two newcomers, Democrats Linda W. Hart and Jack Sturgill.

District 8: Katherine Klausmeier, the district's Democratic incumbent senator, has proved to be a hardworking leader on such issues as teacher pensions and affordable health care. Her moderate views, particularly on fiscal matters, are well in line with the district. Del. Eric M. Bromwell, a Democrat seeking a second term, also merits our endorsement. The best choices to join him in the House are Republican Melissa Redmer Mullahey and Democrat Todd Schuler, who have promised to support education spending.

District 11: To fill the seat of outgoing Sen. Paula C. Hollinger, the clear choice is Bobby A. Zirkin, a rising star in the House of Delegates who has been a tireless advocate (and critic) of the state's juvenile justice system. Incumbent Democrats Dan K. Morhaim and Jon S. Cardin have also proved their value in the legislature representing the county's northwest district. Dana Stein, a fellow Democrat and the founder of a well-regarded nonprofit community service agency, would be a welcome addition.

District 12A: Edward J. Kasemeyer, a Democrat who lives in the Howard County portion of the district, merits a fifth term in the Senate. He's a well-regarded moderate who points out that the state is facing a serious budget deficit in the coming year, and should perhaps resort to a surtax on high incomes. House GOP candidate Joe Hooe, in his second try, is advocating an occupational license for every Marylander, to cost somewhere between $20 and $60. That's why we're sticking with the two constituent-service reliables, Democratic incumbents James E. Malone Jr. and Steven J. DeBoy Sr.

District 42: Voters in this district that includes Towson and Timonium have a difficult choice between two moderate state Senate candidates. Incumbent Jim Brochin, a Democrat, has been on the right side of major issues such as supporting embryonic stem cell research, increasing the minimum wage and preserving the environment. In a close call, he gets our endorsement over Republican Douglas B. Riley, a former County Council member. In the House, Republicans Susan Aumann and William J. Frank deserve re-election for their hard work and good constituent service. For the open third seat, we endorse Democrat Stephen W. Lafferty, deputy director of Howard County's Department of Planning and Zoning.

Howard County

District 9A: Democrat Rich Corkran, a political newcomer and longtime teacher, represents the mainstream views of Howard and Carroll county residents in this overlapping district. He supports increased school construction spending and affordable health care for all state workers, and he has vowed to lend his voice to a more civil debate in Annapolis. The Sun endorses him for the Senate.

Incumbent Republican Del. Gail Bates took her seat in the House in 2002 and quickly earned a leadership position as deputy minority whip. She is a strong fiscal conservative and supports a combination of mass transit and new roads to handle the looming transportation needs of her region. The Sun endorses her. David Leonard Osmundson is the lone Democratic contender in this race; a retired NSA analyst and a church activist, he brings a refreshingly open mind to such issues as immigration, the death penalty and urban sprawl. He has earned The Sun's endorsement.

District 12A: As noted in the Baltimore County section above, voters should pick James E. Malone Jr. and Steven J. DeBoy Sr.

District 12B: The House race is easy to call: Incumbent Democrat Elizabeth Bobo is popular and rightly so, given her long record in county and state office. For Senate, as above, The Sun endorses Edward J. Kasemeyer.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.