Fallston, River Hill play to tie

Adjei helps No. 3 Loyola slip past No. 2 Mount St. Joseph, 1-0

High Schools

Boys soccer

September 12, 2006|By Glenn Graham | Glenn Graham,Sun reporter

Fallston and visiting River Hill looked at last night's 1-1 draw from different views.

For the No. 12 Hawks, their persistence in pressing forward finally paid off when senior forward Mulu Seyoum scored with 30 seconds in regulation for the tying goal, putting home a loose ball off a direct kick sent in by Greg Sneeringer.

For the host Cougars, the early goal they scored - coming from senior midfielder Tim Gill in the 13th minute - was protected by a well-organized defensive front and senior goalkeeper Sam Stein until the final seconds. Fallston is now 3-0-1 this season, and River Hill has a 1-0-1 mark.

"I was happy with the way we played - we had our chances and never quit," River Hill first-year coach Matt Shagogue said.

Energized by the late goal in regulation, the Hawks had the better of the play in the two 10-minute overtime periods, with both teams getting chances but no game-winning goal.

The Cougars, who got a strong effort from defenders Nelson Hannahs, Scott Covelly and Rob Burdon - along with a 10-save performance from Stein - could not capitalize on a couple of chances to pad their one-goal lead.

"We worked really hard and tried to shut them down. But they made good on a set play and that's how it goes," Fallston coach Chris Hoover said.

No. 3 Loyola 1, No. 2 Mount St. Joseph 0 -- Douglas Adjei followed his own shot to score with 10 minutes remaining and lift the visiting Dons (2-1). Gaels goalkeeper Nick Smith tipped the ball into the air on Adjei's initial shot, with the ball hitting the crossbar and falling in front of the goal mouth. Adjei then followed his shot and kicked it into the net.glenn.graham@baltsun.com

Staff reports contributed to this article.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.