Wilde Lake tops Atholton

No. 7 City rolls past Forest Park, 52-0


September 09, 2006|By From Staff Reports

The Wilde Lake football team spent the offseason stewing over a loss to neighboring rival Atholton.

In the final week of the 2005 regular season, the Raiders rolled past the Wildecats and on to the playoffs. Wilde Lake's season ended with a 21-point loss.

But the Wildecats didn't have to wait long to get another chance at Atholton.

Wilde Lake opened its season last night with a 14-7 win over the host Raiders.

"It was certainly part of the motivation," offensive coordinator Mike Harris said. "It's funny how the schedule works out. It's becoming a good rivalry."

Junior Ashton Hayes blocked a punt and recovered it in the end zone in the first quarter to stake the Wildecats to an early lead.

Senior Zach Brown had 34 carries for 213 yards and a touchdown, but it was the strong defensive performance that stopped the Raiders. Wilde Lake held Atholton to minus-2 yards rushing.

No. 7 City 52, Forest Park 0 -- The visiting Knights (1-0) scored 52 points in the first half against the Foresters (0-1). Senior Brian Dunston led City with 164 yards on 13 carries and two touchdowns. Senior running back Dominick Roseborough added two scores.

No. 14 North Harford 48, North East 8 -- Senior Brian Woolson and junior Billy Tyrrell combined for 293 yards rushing and five touchdowns as the Hawks stormed (1-0) past the visiting Eagles (0-1).

Fallston 29, Havre de Grace 20 -- Garrett Weinhold returned a kickoff 86 yards for the Cougars, who scored four first-half touchdowns. Chad Palmer gained 76 yards on 14 carries with two touchdowns for host Fallston (1-0). Junior linebacker Dylan Manley had 11 solo tackles and a interception for the Cougars.

Catonsville 9, Western Tech 6 -- Dan Vanik made a 36-yard field goal with no time left to lift the Comets (1-0) over the Wolverines (0-1).

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.