People On The Move


August 02, 2006

NAACP Youth Council is honored in D.C.

Shamara Thornton; Zemen and Tubi Retta; Alexis Carter; Aurielle, Josh, Marcus and Matthew Austin; Dara and Keila Foster; and Cierra Holmes - all members of the Howard County NAACP Youth Council - attended the 97th NAACP National Convention July 15-20 in Washington.

The Howard County NAACP Youth Council was named 1st Place NAACP Youth Council of the Year; the council's adviser, Bessie Bordenave, received the 1st Place NAACP Youth Advisor of the Year award.

Cierra Holmes and Zemen Retta won both Medgar Evers leadership awards. Zemen Retta also won in the Gloster B. Current leadership award. She and Khadija Elkharbibi, who was not able to attend the conference, were awarded Roy Wilkins scholarships.

The Jondell Johnson Membership Award was presented by the Sigma Gamma Sorority to Bordenave; The youth council also won an award for membership recruitment.

Erica McLaughlin, a former president of the youth council and a member of the Region VII NAACP National Youth Board, presided over many of the events.

Leadership group elects Skalny

Paul G. Skalny, a principal of the Howard County law firm of Davis, Agnor, Rapaport & Skalny LLC, has been elected chairman of the board of Leadership Howard County, a nonprofit organization that offers a range of educational experiences designed to prepare participants in its programs to become community leaders.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.