Community Notes


July 21, 2006

Political forum to be held tomorrow

African Americans in Howard County (AAIHC) will hold a political forum for candidates for the Howard County delegation to the state legislature from 9 a.m. to noon tomorrow in Agape Hall of St. John Baptist Church, 8910 Old Annapolis Road, Ellicott City.

Stuart O. Simms, candidate for state attorney general, will be on hand as well to answer questions.

Topics to be discussed include taxes, housing, crime, poverty, state contracts, Medicaid and affordable health care, transportation, education and the coalition's legislative agenda.

Information: 301-596-5240.

Red Cross seeks blood donors

The Red Cross says blood donations have fallen to a critical level, and the community blood supply is not adequate for the needs of hospitals.

In response, the Greater Chesapeake and Potomac Region of the Red Cross is urging eligible whole blood donors to schedule an appointment to give blood.

Donors must be in good health, at least 17 years old (16 with written parental consent) and weigh at least 110 pounds. They must not have received a tattoo within the past year and not have donated whole blood in the past 56 days.

Those who donate will receive a "Be the One We Count On" T-shirt and a chance to win $100 worth of gas in a weekly raffle.

Information or to schedule an appointment: 800-GIVE- LIFE.

Disability-issues panel seeking nominations

The Howard County Commission on Disability Issues is accepting nominations for its 2006 awards program.

Categories include employer of the year; accessibility award; individual achievement; a service provider award; Ralph Mulloy Advocacy Achievement award; and a youth award.

Nominees can be businesses, corporations, a building or any public accommodation, an individual or agency providing exceptional services, or an individual who has positively influenced others with disabilities.

Nominees must live, work or provide services in Howard County. The nominations deadline is Sept. 1.

Award winners will be recognized at the 12th awards breakfast Oct. 5 as part of National Disability Employment Awareness Month.

Information: 410-313-6402. To download a nominations form:

Independent voters to meet Monday

Independent Voters in Howard County, a new organization, will meet from 7 p.m. to 9 p.m. Monday at the Miller branch library, 9421 Frederick Road, Ellicott City.

Speakers are to include Angela Beltram of COPE, Citizens for an Open Process for Everyone; Steve Wallis, independent candidate for Howard County executive; and Kevin Zeese, independent candidate for U.S. Senate.

Information: Mona Brinegar, 443-889-9070.

Nominations sought for volunteer awards

Nomination forms are available for Howard County's 2006 Volunteer of the Year awards for individuals and groups.

Nominees must live in the county or do their volunteer work in the county; their work should have a significant impact on the community or an individual.

The nominees will be recognized at a ceremony with county officials Sept. 14. One of the nominees will be selected to represent Howard and its volunteers at the annual statewide Maryland You Are Beautiful volunteer recognition program, to be held by Gov. Robert L. Ehrlich Jr. in September.

Nomination forms are available through the Howard County public information office (410-313-2022) or online at The nomination deadline is Aug. 7.

Vendors sought for 50+ Expo

Vendors are being sought for the 50+ Expo, to be held from 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. Oct. 20 at Wilde Lake High School in Columbia.

Fees vary and are based on exhibitor category and location at the expo, which is designed for people ages 50 and older and their families, caregivers and friends. The expo will feature a health fair, health screenings, an alternative care fair, an "Ask the Experts" series, workshops, demonstrations, an auction, entertainment and food.

Information or to reserve a space: 410-531-5472. For a vendor packet:

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.