Roch around the clock


The Kickoff

July 07, 2006|By ROCH KUBATKO

EACH CLUB — ESPN Classic has come up with 32 entries for a contest to name the greatest World Series team of all time. The list includes the 1970 Orioles.

Each club - 16 from the American League, 16 from the National League - will be paired off. The outcome of each "game" will be determined by a fan vote. Just go to

The show will air Wednesday.

In the opening round, the Orioles are matched against the 1948 Cleveland Indians, who had five All-Stars and five future Hall of Famers.

The Yankees are represented by five teams - 1927, 1939, 1953, 1961 and 1998. The Athletics have two Philadelphia entries (1911 and 1929) and two Oakland teams (1972 and 1989). The Cardinals have the most NL entries - 1931, 1946 and 1967.

Other teams in the running: 1975 Reds, 1907 Cubs, 1954 New York Giants, 1940 Reds, 1905 New York Giants, 1963 Los Angeles Dodgers, 1909 Pirates, 1995 Braves, 1955 Brooklyn Dodgers, 1922 New York Giants, 1971 Pirates (that one hurts), 1957 Milwaukee Braves, 1986 Mets, 1935 Tigers, 1984 Tigers, 1912 Red Sox, 1917 White Sox and 1993 Blue Jays.

My heart says '70 Orioles. My head says that's a great choice, but so are the '27 Yankees and '84 Tigers, who ran away with the division before spring training ended.

How would you vote?

For more "Roch Around the Clock," go to

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.