Lions claim semifinal

Defending 4A-3A champs pull away from Owls in last 10 minutes

Dulaney 12 Westminster 8

Girls lacrosse


Westminster girls lacrosse coach Beth Nave hoped yesterday's Class 4A-3A state semifinal against defending champion Dulaney would show doubters that her team was on a par with the best in the state.

The Owls did just that, but it was the No. 6 Lions who advanced to the state final with a hard-fought 12-8 win at Annapolis High.

Leading by a goal with just over 10 minutes left, Dulaney (16-2) sealed the win by scoring four of the final five goals, including two by junior Mary Heneberry (five goals, one assist).

"They knew what they had to do to win the game," Lions coach Kristi Korrow said. "It was simply going to be a matter of who really wanted to be in the state final."

The Lions will face No. 10 Severna Park in the Class 4A-3A final, to be played Wednesday at 6 p.m. at UMBC.

It didn't happen, however, without a fight.

Led by midfielder Brittany Baer (five goals), Westminster (13-4) matched Dulaney goal for goal in the first half, twice taking the lead. As the game wore on, however, the Lions began to assert their dominance.

"I don't know that we were prepared for that fast a transition repetitively," Nave said. "It just was over and over and over again, and I know our midfield was getting very tired."

Tied 5-5 at the half, Dulaney took the lead for good on two goals by Heneberry in the first two minutes. The Owls cut the lead to one on back-to-back goals by Baer and Amber Nichols midway through the half, but Dulaney pulled away.

Korrow said Dulaney's easy trip through the regionals - the Lions outscored their three opponents by a combined 53-12 - made the task even more difficult.

"It's tough coming off games where you're winning by 10-plus goals, then having a team like Westminster, who we knew was going to be some real competition," Korrow said.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.