Anne Arundel women, Catonsville set for title


Two familiar local rivals will meet today for the fourth time this season with the National Junior College Athletic Association women's lacrosse championship the prize at Anne Arundel Community College.

That was assured yesterday in the semifinals when host Anne Arundel routed Cayuga (N.Y.) CC, 24-3, and CCBC-Catonsville fought off Herkimer CC, 12-9, in a physical battle to set up a third consecutive title showdown between the Maryland schools.

Two-time defending champion Catonsville was an 11-9 winner in 2004 and took last year's game, 7-6, in double overtime, but Anne Arundel has taken two of three meetings this spring, the latest in a 10-3 romp in the regional final.

The Pioneers (15-2) had no trouble with Cayuga, which fell behind 9-0 before scoring and was never in the game.

"We wanted to save as much as we could for tomorrow," Anne Arundel coach Jim Griffiths said. "It's good we didn't get anybody hurt because we turn around and play again in less than 24 hours."

Ten players scored for the Pioneers with Melissa Line (Southern-AA) and Kaitlin Davis (St. Mary's) getting four goals apiece.

The Cardinals (14-2) had a much tougher time against Herkimer (12-1), falling behind by two goals in the first six minutes and clinging to a 7-6 halftime lead.

But with Kandice Schroeder (Catholic) scoring four goals within nine minutes, they pulled ahead by six before Herkimer made a late rush.

"The big thing is our kids kept their composure," Catonsville coach Tom Taylor said. "Our defense tightened up against a team that could run."

Haley Carmack and Schroeder finished with five goals apiece for the Cardinals, who received "a reality check" the last time they met Anne Arundel.

The championship game is scheduled for 2 p.m. after the two New York schools play the consolation game at 11 a.m.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.