No. 2 Gaels win in a walk

Mount St. Joseph 7 St. Paul's 3

High Schools



A close baseball game turned on five consecutive walks and closed with some seventh-inning excitement as No. 2 Mount St. Joseph defeated visiting St. Paul's, 7-3, yesterday.

The Gaels got a strong effort from senior left-hander Sean Kennedy (5-0), who tired in the seventh. Sophomore Ryan Kemp came on to get the last two outs and left the bases loaded after the Crusaders had scored two runs.

"Kennedy changed speeds well on us and went inside and out," said St. Paul's coach Paul Bernstorf. "We had been hitting the ball well."

Five straight walks, the first three by St. Paul's starter and loser Brian Taafe, led to a four-run Mount St. Joseph fourth inning and a 6-1 lead. Tommy Bowles' RBI single was the Gaels' only hit in the decisive inning.

The victory left the Gaels (15-4) at 11-3 in the Maryland Interscholastic Athletic Association A Conference, a half game behind Archbishop Spalding (12-3).

No. 3 Spalding (16-6) blanked Archbishop Curley, 3-0, yesterday to set up tomorrow's 4 p.m. showdown at Mount St. Joseph.

The game could determine the top seed for the six-team, double-elimination A Conference playoffs that are set to begin the week of May 15, with a May 24 championship game at Ripken Stadium in Aberdeen.

After getting the first batter in the seventh, Kennedy (three-hitter with five strikeouts and four walks in 6 1/3 innings) hit Colby Roane with a pitch and walked pinch hitter Sean Perkins. Kemp came on and was greeted with a run-scoring double by Alex Griswold.

Kemp hit Steve Bernstorf and gave up an infield hit to Jack Carey that scored the third run for the Crusaders (10-11, 7-8) and loaded the bases.

No. 3 hitter Joe Petty (four homers) then struck out on a disputed checked swing, and cleanup batter Matt Markey (five homers) grounded out to first baseman Colin Keelan to end it.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.