Col. of Notre Dame wins title

College lacrosse


Host College of Notre Dame women's lacrosse team set the tone from the start. Tina Money controlled the opening draw out of midair and raced to score the goal nine seconds into the game at Alumnae Field.

The Gators went on to beat Chestnut Hill, 17-7, to capture their 11th straight Atlantic Women's Colleges Conference Championship. College of Notre Dame (12-4) has never lost an AWCC game, winning 63 consecutive regular season and tournament games.

Money finished with three goals and a career-high 10 draw controls. Notre Dame's Anne Shippen (Glenelg Country Day) led all scorers with six goals and Sara Breidenbaugh (Perry Hall) had five. Katie Donovan had four goals for the Griffins (4-11).

No. 2 Northwestern 19, Denver 10 -- Kristen Kjellman (five goals) led the host Wildcats (15-1) to their fifth win in a row and 17th straight at home. Tanya Fuchs had a game-high six goals for the Pioneers (14-4).

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.