Columbia Council gets 2 new members


Columbians elected two new representatives yesterday to open seats on the Columbia Council, the 10-member advisory panel for the Howard County planned community.

In both races, the incumbents - Wolfger Schneider of Harper's Choice and Joshua Feldmark of Wilde Lake - chose not to run for re-election.

Cynthia Coyle defeated David Willemain for the Harper's Choice council seat by a vote of 264-126.

In Wilde Lake, Philip Kirsch defeated William Santos by a vote of 200-166.

Incumbents Miles Coffman of Hickory Ridge, Barbara L. Russell of Oakland Mills and Pearl Atkinson-Stewart of Owen Brown ran unopposed for re-election.

The election for the contested council seat for the Town Center representative will be held Saturday.

The Columbia Council meets once a year, in May, when elected representatives appoint themselves to the board of directors for the Columbia Association.

The seats of Columbia Council representatives Tom O'Connor of Dorsey's Search, Phil Marcus of Kings Contrivance, Henry Dagenais of Long Reach and Patrick von Schlag of River Hill are not up for re-election this year.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.