In Business

In Business

April 22, 2006


Davis Inotek Instruments LLC, headquartered in Baltimore, signed a final purchase agreement with GE Consumer & Industrial to acquire its Instrumentation Services unit, based in Duluth, Ga. No financial details were disclosed. The sale is expected to close in May.


The U.S. Small Business Administration named Jane M. Brewer, a Baltimore CPA with KAWG&F, as the 2006 Women in Business Champion of the Year in the Baltimore, Maryland and Mid-Atlantic area.

The Maryland Restaurant Association presented the Beall family, founders of Ledo Pizza System, based in Annapolis, with its McCormick Cornerstone award. The selection was made based on job opportunities creation, community, school and charitable support.


MacKenzie Commercial Real Estate Services LLC said it has acquired IRC Real Estate Services, a specialist in industrial sales and leasing. As a result of the deal, IRC Senior Vice President Michael Spedden and IRC President Carey Martien have joined MacKenzie's industrial division. The Lutherville-based firm also gained a portfolio of buildings.

New contracts

AAI Corp., the Cockeysville-based unit of United Industrial Corp., won contracts potentially worth $13.3 million to provide joint services electronic combat systems tester units for the U.S., Canadian and Netherlands armed forces.

Quality Associates, of Columbia, was awarded a contract by the Academy for Educational Development to convert and archive more than 10,000 boxes of materials in electronic format.


Arthritis Foundation's Maryland chapter appointed John A. Gilpin chairman of its board of directors and Dr. Ira Fine, Terry Slade Young, Michael Netzer, Christine Fahlund, Dr. Sergei P. Atamas, Dr. Clifton O. Bingham, James E. Ross and Durbin P. Vido to the board.


Mid-Atlantic Waterproofing of Maryland Inc. has moved its operations to Columbia.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.