For The Record

April 18, 2006

The quiz

E-3 -- Name the Orioles first baseman who 15 years ago today commited four errors in an 11-inning, 4-3 loss to the Brewers, tying the American League single-game record. Answer below



GIANTS -- Placed 1B Lance Niekro on bereavement list. Recalled IF Travis Ishikawa from Double-A Connecticut.

MARLINS -- Placed OF Jeremy Hermida on 15-day DL with right hip flexor and P Carlos Martinez on 15-day DL with right elbow strain. Purchased contract of OF Matt Cepicky from Triple-A Albuquerque. Recalled P Randy Messenger from Albuquerque.

METS -- Recalled P Pedro Feliciano from Triple-A Norfolk. Optioned OF Victor Diaz to Norfolk.

NATIONALS -- Placed P Ryan Drese on 15-day DL.

REDS -- Placed OF Ken Griffey on 15-day DL with inflamed tendon behind right knee. Sent IF Matt Kata outright to Triple-A Louisville.

ROYALS -- Recalled P Joel Peralta from Triple-A Omaha. Placed P Steve Stemle on 15-day DL with right elbow strain.

YANKEES -- Sent C Koyie Hill outright to Triple-A Columbus.


SUPERSONICS -- Exercised 2006-07 option on coach Bob Hill.

TIMBERWOLVES -- Announced retirement of G Fred Hoiberg, who will join the team's front office.

TRAIL BLAZERS -- Fined and suspended F Zach Randolph for conduct detrimental to team.

SPARKS (WNBA) -- Named Joe Bryant coach.

STORM (WNBA) -- Resigned F Lauren Jackson to multiyear deal.


CHICK-FIL-A BOWL -- Former Peach Bowl will be played Dec. 30 at 8 p.m. at Georgia Dome.


TEWAARATON TROPHY -- Twenty-three finalists were named for award that goes to men's lacrosse player; they include Johns Hopkins' Kevin Huntley and Paul Rabil; Maryland's Xander Ritz and Joe Walters; Navy's Billy Looney and Matt Russell; Salisbury's Dan Boyer; and Towson's Casey Cittadino.

CONNECTICUT -- Announced that sophomore F Rudy Gay (Archbishop Spalding) will forgo final two years of eligibility and enter NBA draft.

COPPIN STATE -- MEAC named Danielle Summerour softball Pitcher of the Week.

GEORGETOWN -- Big East named A Coco Stanwick (Notre Dame Prep) women's lacrosse Offensive Player of the Week.

IOWA STATE -- Announced that LB Matt Robertson will not be allowed to play senior season after he tested positive for banned nutritional supplement.

JOHNS HOPKINS -- Centennial Conference named Ryan Kuhlman baseball Pitcher of the Week.

LOYOLA -- ECAC named M Greg Leonard men's lacrosse Offensive Player of the Week. US Lacrosse named Charley Toomey Coach of the Week.

LSU -- Announced that freshman F Tyrus Thomas will make himself eligible for NBA draft. Announced that sophomore F Glen Davis will return to school.

MARYLAND -- ACC named A Joe Walters men's lacrosse Co-Player of the Week. ACC named Ramona But women's tennis Performer of the Week.

NAVY -- Patriot League named M Billy Looney and G Matt Russell men's lacrosse Offensive and Defensive Players of the Week, respectively.

RUTGERS -- ECAC named A Tad Stanwick (Boys' Latin) men's lacrosse Rookie of the Week.

ST. MARY'S -- CAC named Jeremy Butanis (Fallston) men's tennis Player of the Week.

SALISBURY -- CAC named A Ryan Rohde men's lacrosse Athlete of the Week.

TOWSON -- CAA named 1B Emily Gould softball Rookie of the Week.

UMBC -- America East named 1B Melanie Denischuk softball Player of the Week.


WASHINGTON COLLEGE -- Centennial Conference named M Thayer Damm men's lacrosse Player of the Week.


BILLS -- Released CB Kevin Thomas.

BRONCOS -- Named Chip Conway VP of operations and Rick Schoenhals vice president of information technology.

CHARGERS -- Signed S Andre Lott, who had been with Redskins, to two-year contract.

49ERS -- Named Lal Heneghan executive VP of football operations. Signed former Ravens LB T.J. Slaughter. Waived RB DeCori Birmingham.


CAPITALS -- Assigned C Dave Steckel to AHL Hershey.

MAPLE LEAFS -- Re-signed F Chad Kilger to three-year, $2.7 million contract.


GALAXY (MLS) -- Named Alexi Lalas president and GM.

Quiz answer

Glenn Davis.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.