Millar leads sendoff win

Orioles 7 Marlins 2

Spring Report


JUPITER, Fla. -- Kevin Millar hit a three-run homer in the third inning, and the Orioles closed out the Grapefruit League portion of their exhibition schedule with a 7-2 victory over the Florida Marlins yesterday.

The Orioles (11-17) won despite committing three errors.

Millar connected off Marlins starter Sergio Mitre to give the Orioles a 5-0 lead after Melvin Mora's RBI double and a two-out walk to Jeff Conine.

Conine had a run-scoring double in the first inning to provide an early lead for Erik Bedard, who pitched through the fourth. Bedard allowed one run and three hits, walked two and struck out two before Jim Brower replaced him.

"He's actually been impressive all spring," manager Sam Perlozzo said of Bedard.

Brower allowed a run-scoring double to Jason Wood that reduced the Orioles' lead to 5-2 in the fifth.

Nick Markakis reached base five times, including an RBI double in the ninth, as the No. 2 hitter.


Erik Bedard -- He might not be a No. 2 starter on every staff in the majors, but the Orioles will take their chances.

Nick Markakis -- The man is an on-base machine. Looked pretty good batting second.

Kevin Millar -- Rides a custom Harley, but so far, Millar has been made for this team.

Sendy Rleal -- Two more scoreless innings would seem to make him a lock for the bullpen. One earned run allowed in 12 innings this spring. Exhibition stats don't always mean much, but it's hard to ignore his numbers.


Javy Lopez -- The slump continues, but at least he got to squat behind home plate in the Florida heat.

Miguel Tejada -- Not picking on the guy, but he went hitless again, squelching one rally by grounding into a double play. He was animated at times, but mostly out of frustration.


Jay Gibbons still couldn't play because of lingering tightness in his upper back.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.