All-howard County

March 22, 2006



Vince Taweel


The 140-pound junior captured state, Class 2A-1A South and county titles for a third straight year in closing out the season with a 35-1 mark.

Overcoming shoulder surgery in the middle of the season, Taweel came away with a decisive 8-7 decision over Hereford's two-time state champ Josh Asper - his 100th career win - to lead the No. 3 Bears to their second straight Class 2A-1A state duals title. A three-time All-Metro selection, Taweel has a 111-7 career mark.


Rob Bowman


The Gladiators' six-year coach got plenty of mileage from his state qualifiers, largely due to the difficult tournament schedule and daily work in the practice room.

Senior 160-pounder Matt Bichner became Bowman's first state titlist and the program's first since 1997. Sophomore Dan Bichner placed second at 119, Brian Marcoux took third at 112 and Chris Stinnett finished fifth at 125 to give the Gladiators (10-5) a fourth-placing showing in the Class 2A-1A tournament.

First team

Weight Name School Class

103 Rob Eloshway Atholton Senior

112 Devon Gillett Hammond Junior

119 Dan Bichner Glenelg Soph.

125 Zach Halper Hammond Junior

125 Chris Stinnett Glenelg Soph.

130 Mike Montanez Centennial Senior

135 Jose Maldonado Hammond Senior

140 Vince Taweel Hammond Senior

145 Ryan Conroy Atholton Junior

152 Taylor Green River Hill Senior

160 Alex Angelidis River Hill Senior

160 Matt Bichner Glenelg Senior

171 Ben Diamond River Hill Senior

189 Steve Sessa Hammond Senior

215 Zach Brown Wilde Lake Junior

275 B.J. Benning River Hill Senior

Second Team

Weight Name School Class

103 Tyler Bulger Howard Soph.

103 Vince McClain Oak. Mills Senior

103 Nathan White River Hill Fresh.

112 Brian Marcoux Glenelg Soph.

119 Cody Gormley Mt. Hebron Senior

125 Davonte Hutchings Oak. Mills Junior

130 Eric Yee Hammond Senior

135 James Robinson Wilde Lake Senior

140 Teddy Johnson Atholton Senior

145 Jovan Saunders Oak. Mills Soph.

145 Greg Sneeringer River Hill Junior

152 Ryan McKevitt Hammond Junior

171 Jeremy Askew Oak. Mills Senior

189 Kevin Klink Oak. Mills Senior

215 Justin Wray Mt. Hebron Senior

275 Mike Krason Atholton Senior

Note -- Teams selected by Glenn Graham and Lem Satterfield after consultation with The Sun staff and area coaches.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.