All-anne Arundel County

March 22, 2006



Andrew Engel

Old Mill

A three-year starter, the 6-foot-2 senior point guard was the key player in the No. 9 Patriots' second straight run to the Class 4A state semifinals, as well as county and regional titles.

Engel led Old Mill in scoring (14.9 points), assists (4.5) and steals (66) in addition to averaging 3.5 rebounds and blocking 22 shots. Named to the Charm City Challenge, Engel shot 54 percent from the field, 35 percent from three-point range and 87 percent from the line.

Old Mill was 47-7 in two seasons with Engel at point guard.


Greg Smith

Old Mill

After graduating eight seniors, three of them starters, from last year's team, Smith built another county and regional champion around three players and set school records for consecutive wins (16) and most wins in a season (24-3) to repeat as county Coach of the Year.

Smith, who is 98-50 (.662) over six seasons, emphasized pressure defense and an up-tempo offense. Old Mill was the only county boys team to advance to the state tournament this season, and only the third since 1996 to repeat as county champs.

First team

Name School Class Pos.

Garrett Blackstone Glen Burnie Junior Guard

Andrew Engel Old Mill Senior Guard

Johann Jones Meade Senior Guard

Derek Young A. Spalding Senior Guard

Daishawn Anderson Annapolis Senior Forward

Derek Harris Old Mill Senior Forward

Teon Kennedy North County Junior Forward

Rodney Stokes Old Mill Senior Center

Second Team

Name School Class Pos.

Kenny Alford Old Mill Junior Guard

Clyde Gross Broadneck Junior Guard

Wayne Hawkins North County Senior Guard

Lateef Williams Annapolis Junior Guard

Kevin Coates Annapolis Senior Forward

Dan Quinn A. Spalding Senior Forward

Marshall Durr Northeast Senior Center

Robert Wayson Southern Senior Center

Note -- Teams selected by Pat O'Malley after consultation with The Sun staff and area coaches.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.