All-harford County

March 22, 2006



Mike Long

Harford Tech

Rated No. 1 at 130 pounds by the Maryland State Wrestling Association, Long left little doubt that he was deserving of his ranking, as the senior ripped through Maryland competition en route to a 42-2 record.

After losing in the state finals two straight years, Long earned his first state title with a 3-1 victory over Owings Mills' Tony Mack. He also won county and regional titles and placed second at the Mount Mat Madness tournament.

Long, whose career record is 141-19, also won the Senior All-Star Classic.


Gary Siler

Harford Tech

In his 18th year as coach of the Cobras, Siler finally captured his first state championship. With a state title from Mike Long (130 pounds), runner-up finishes by Mark Taylor (112) and Matt Kahl (145) and placements from Matt Oates (fifth, 119) and Jeff Gardner (fourth, 171), Siler's team outdistanced favored Hammond by 1.5 points to win the state meet.

The Cobras also won Upper Chesapeake Athletic Conference and Class 2A-1A East regional titles and finished the year 13-3 in dual meets.

First team

Weight Name School Class

103 Sean Ellenby Bel Air Soph.

112 Mark Taylor Harford Tech Junior

119 Matt Oates Harford Tech Junior

125 Eric Haskell Harford Tech Senior

130 Tommy McCord C. M. Wright Senior

135 BJ Yantz Bel Air Senior

140 Shane Correll Bel Air Senior

145 Matt Kahl Harford Tech Senior

152 Pat Conlon Aberdeen Senior

160 Brandon Bowers Fallston Senior

160 Russell Harrell Joppatowne Senior

171 Jeff Gardner Harford Tech Senior

189 Justin Hohner N. Harford Junior

215 JT Levendusky John Carroll Senior

275 John Von Paris John Carroll Junior

Second Team

Weight Name School Class

103 Chris Hoffman Aberdeen Fresh.

112 Charles Gains Joppatowne Soph.

119 Matt Cross Bel Air Soph.

125 Tommy LaVey John Carroll Soph.

125 Steve Wienecke C.M. Wright Senior

130 Brandon Frazier Aberdeen Soph.

135 Chris Denardi Edgewood Junior

140 Tom Stewart North Harford Soph.

145 Ethan Reese John Carroll Fresh.

152 Mike Rainey Fallston Senior

152 Jon Woods Harford Tech Senior

160 Justin Butler Edgewood Junior

171 George Denton C. M. Wright Soph.

189 Joseph Urbanski Edgewood Senior

215 Anthony Lester C. M. Wright Senior

275 Mark Alexander Bel Air Junior

Note -- Teams were selected by Lem Satterfield and Luke Broadwater after consultation with The Sun staff and area coaches.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.