Education Notes


March 19, 2006

2 being honored at board meeting

The Harford County Public Schools' Educator Hall of Fame will induct Walter H. Davis and Everett L. Cook at 6:30 p.m. tomorrow during the school board meeting at the new Administration Building, 102 S. Hickory Ave., Bel Air.

Information: 410-588-5203.

John Carroll plans spring celebration

Alumni of John Carroll School in Bel Air will sponsor a spring celebration beginning at 6 p.m. April 1 in the school gymnasium.

Activities will include watching the NCAA Final Four on a 12-foot-by-12-foot screen, live music by Dennis Schocket, and catering by Jerry D's.

Tickets are $30 a person. Tables of eight are available for $240. Proceeds from the event will benefit the John Carroll School athletic department.

Information: or 410-879-5053.

Harford Friends gets used microscopes

Harford Friends School recently received 18 American Optical Corp. microscopes from the Community College of Baltimore County at Essex.

Virginia Schurman, a professor of microbiology noticed that the microscopes were being thrown out when the college revamped its science facilities. She petitioned her lab technician, Karen Roettger, to donate the microscopes to HFS.

Friends' students have used the microscopes to conduct cellular investigation of plant tissue, identify plant diseases and observe ice melting.

Information: 410-457-5099.

2 teachers join national program

Francine Plotycia of Abingdon Elementary School and Sandra Richter of Joppatowne Elementary have been selected as members of the Teacher-to-Teacher Training Corps, a nationwide team of experts who will offer technical assistance to educators and school districts on successful strategies for increasing student achievement.

The team will provide on-site technical assistance and help lead regional professional development workshops for teachers and districts over the next year. The goal of the corps is to increase teachers' subject content knowledge and improve instructional skills as a means to improve student academic performance.

Plotycia teaches second grade; Richter teaches third.

HCC staffers to be honored

Rhonda Deeg and Diane Resides at Harford Community College will receive National Institute for Staff and Organizational Development Excellence Awards in the faculty category and staff/administrator category, respectively.

Deeg is program coordinator/professor in the Building Preservation and Restoration Program, and Resides is associate vice president for Student Development.

Deeg has a master's degree from Eastern Michigan University and a bachelor's from Central Michigan University.

Resides has a bachelor's degree in administration of justice, a master's in rehabilitation counseling, and a doctorate in adult education, all from Penn State University.

NSIOD is the outreach organization of the Community College Leadership Program at the University of Texas at Austin.

Cecil college lists classes

Cecil Community College offers courses to the community at Elkton Station, 107 Railroad Ave.

Youth Education Services classes for children include Yoga, Ceramics and Elementary Ceramics Tuesday; cartooning, Art Masters and Elementary Art Masters on Thursday; Imagination Celebration Series and Babysitter Training on March 27; Microsoft Publisher on March 28; and Dance Basics on March 29.

Summer 2006 registration for Kids in Kollege is scheduled for tomorrow.

The Senior Education Network is available to all Maryland residents 60 or older. The membership fee for January to June 2006 is $70 and allows unlimited Senior Education Network classes.

Upcoming senior classes include Facts on Long Term Care Insurance on Wednesday and Outdoor Sketch to Indoor Painting on March 30.

Upcoming continuing education classes include Facts on Long Term Care Insurance on Wednesday and Outdoor Sketch to Indoor Painting tomorrow.

Information: 410-392-3366.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.