Quick Hits

Girls Lacrosse

March 15, 2006


Margin of victory in the 2005 Interscholastic Athletic Association of Maryland championships in the A1, A2 and B conferences. St. Mary's edged Severn, 7-6, in A1; McDonogh beat Friends, 11-10, in A2; and Glenelg Country topped the Institute of Notre Dame, 9-8, in B.


State championships won by teams from outside Anne Arundel, Baltimore and Howard counties. Of 37 titles decided since 1990, only Harford County's C. Milton Wright and Carroll County's Century have taken trophies home to other counties. Both won their titles in 2004.


Trips to the state tournament for Dulaney before the Lions won their first title last season, 9-4, over Broadneck. No other team - boys or girls - had made so many trips before winning a crown.


Consecutive wins against Harford County competition by C. Milton Wright. The 2004 Class 4A-3A state champs have not lost to a county foe since March 1997.


Assists last season by St. Mary's midfielder Allison Perkins. She averaged 4.8 per game.


The last year in which Mount Hebron did not win a state championship. Since the state tournament began in 1990, the Vikings have won 13 titles. Severna Park ranks a distant second with six championships.



Class 4A-3A --Dulaney

Class 3A-2A --Mount Hebron

Class 2A-1A/ /



Anne Arundel --Severna Park

Baltimore City --Poly

Baltimore County --Dulaney

Carroll --Century

Harford --C. Milton Wright

Howard --Mount Hebron

IAAM A1 Conference --St. Mary's

IAAM A2 Conference --McDonogh

IAAM B Conference/ /

Glenelg Country

IAAM C Conference --Chapelgate

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.