People On The Move


March 08, 2006

Two women to chair 2006 Relay for Life

Debra Wilkenloh and Lori Evans will serve as co-chairwomen of the Howard County 2006 Relay for Life, an overnight community fundraiser for the American Cancer Society, to be held June 2-3 at Hammond High School in Columbia.

This is Wilkenloh's third year as co-chair of the event. Evans has worked for the American Cancer Society staffing relays in Carroll and Howard counties.

Wilkenloh is executive assistant to the president of Niro Inc., a process engineering company in Columbia. Evans, a graduate of Wilde Lake High School, is a relationship specialist for Wells Fargo Bank in Columbia. Both women live in Baltimore.

Relay for Life is held in communities across the country. The position of co-chair for the event is voluntary.

3 honored for work in support of the arts

Tatiana, a clay artist who converted a historic church in Glenelg into a studio and gallery, has been named Outstanding Artist by the Howard County Arts Council, in recognition of her long-term commitment to the cultural life of Howard County. Tatiana, who plans to move to New Mexico, has worked in the county for 30 years.

The award is part of the council's annual Howie Awards program which recognizes an outstanding artist, arts educator and business or community supporter of the arts.

Barry Enzman, head of Glenelg High School's music department and director of bands, was named Outstanding Arts Educator. Steve Gershman, a member of the boards of the Howard County Arts Council, Columbia Festival of the Arts and Leadership Howard County - and initiator of the Celebration of the Arts in Howard County gala - was named Outstanding Community Supporter of the Arts.

The awards will be presented at the annual Celebration of the Arts April 22 at Jim Rouse Theatre for the Performing Arts at Wilde Lake High School in Columbia.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.